Families logo

Make a change in your children's learning.

Things I want to incorporate into my children's education.

By J . TurnerPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
Postcard available on my etsy page www.liladventurerletters.etsy.com

Hi, welcome to my post.

You’ll find information on aspects of homeschooling like languages, organisation and

We are a family that believes in learning every day and grabbing adventure when it presents itself. I am the Mama and I am have never fit the mould. Being part of the LGBTQ+ community, neurodiverse and aiming for anything but the typical nuclear family. My dream life is not the typical 9-5, which was not the life my partner expected to end up living as he has grown up with traditional values. We have similar goals for our life together and for our children.

What do you want to teach your children? I have thought about how I want to raise my children since I was pregnant with my first son. Based on the struggles I had growing up and what I know about the world's issues I have formed a shortlist. Giving my children the best tools in life is my job is the goal.

We have chosen to homeschool over putting our children in the school system because the school system in the UK is outdated, restrictive, underfunded and does not enable our family to travel freely. What’s the school system like in your native country?

World schooling

Around the world, many cultures have different values and points of view that I want my children to learn about. They can take them on board to contribute to their life decisions as well as see their parents learning new things too. Plus, I believe the best way to learn is to experience the subject. If they want to learn about marine life then we will go scuba diving; if they want to learn Japanese then we go to Japan to speak to native speakers; if they want to see the glaciers they've seen on Planet Earth then we will go to Iceland to see them. Where would you like to take your children to learn? I am hoping this method will help my children value experiences over material things. Growing up in a mostly capitalist country myself, I have seen the damage that can do to our society.

Personal autonomy

In school, we were taught to assimilate into a mould that was not possible for many including me. I couldn't build a sense of identity when I couldn't express myself in a place I spent most of my time. I want my children to be able to form their own identity and be able to express them.

I believe that allowing them to own their personal style will give them more confidence in making decisions about their goals and aspirations. In our school structure, they will learn what I believe is core for education e.g language, maths and science. On top of this, they will work with us to find things that they are interested in. Working with us on their interests is going to keep them more engaged and guide them towards a career choice they genuinely want to pursue.

Bringing my child into the world doesn't give me the power to determine their choices and I want to give them the freedom to control those choices. In the time away from my families judgement, opinions and restrictions, I have discovered I am an outspoken, bisexual, neurodivergent, polyamorous woman. It's incredible. I want my children to be able to find those aspects of themselves earlier than I could. How have you grown in the times away from your parents? There will be no "coming out", they will just bring their significant other to meet us. They have a prefered pronoun, okay. They want to try another style - let's go shopping for a few bits.

About their own body

After meeting many people in my 20s that didn't know what was normal for their bodies or were uncomfortable with the technical words for anatomy like penis, vagina and vulva, I knew I wanted to make sure that my children know about their bodies. My son will know about the menstruation their mother, sisters, friends and possible partners will experience. It will be normalised. They will see my products and symptoms. I do not want it to be a surprise to them when they encounter and be confident enough to make someone feel comfortable during their period.

I also plan to answer any questions they have honestly. I believe that if they are old enough to ask the questions, they are old enough to understand the answer. Sex, alcohol and relationships shouldn’t be a novelty in my children’s lives and I believe approaching it in this way will discourage them from going wild with it. What rebellious activities did you get up to in your teens? I got pregnant because sex was just a mysterious thing that an older boy wanted to show me and was avoided in my house with my parents.

Selfcare

Many are taught about self-care in their teens. That is too late in my experience. Before what we think of as the “real pressures” of life hit them, give them the coping strategies for the biggest things in their world at that moment. Practising when the stressors arent life alternating will help them when they are adults and making decisions that will change their world.

Trying different methods of communication to help them express their feelings will prevent them from bottling their feelings causing other health issues as a result. (link to the post with methods of self-expression).

What methods do you use to cope with stress?

Another important aspect of self-care they should learn is identifying their symptoms of stress and anxiety. Most people don’t know the extent that stress can cause. According to the NHS, anxiety can cause difficulty sleeping, bad dreams, wetting the bed, waking in the night as well as irritability, tearfulness and clinginess. Older children will have issues sleeping, eating, concentrating and possibly avoiding everyday activities.

Thinking back to your experiences growing up, what would you change for your children? What could we, as parents, learn from our children? I have chosen to homeschool to give my children more freedom to explore individually as well as together as a family. Would your children to better in a school environment?

Instagram - instagram.com/littleadventurerexpedition

Tiktok - tiktok.com/@liladventureexpedition

Etsy - http://www.liladventurerletters.etsy.com/

I sell size-inclusive, cute, genderless jumpers to feel as comfy as possible every day in their chaotic lives.

children
1

About the Creator

J . Turner

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.