Families logo

Lorelei's Letters - Letter Two

On change

By Michelle SchultzPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like

Lorelei's Letters is a series of posts addressed for my daughter, but that have general statements that I believe everyone should hear from someone, at some point in their lives. Basically, they are letters from mother to daughter, trying to explain this crazy world, and give some advice. A lot of them are on dark topics that I hope my daughter will get through with no scars. I hope you enjoy or at least take something from the letters. Know that no matter who you are, where you are, or what you've done, you are loved. - A mother

Dear Lorelei,

Change is a huge thing. Sometimes scary, sometimes amazing. It all depends on the situation, obviously. But for this particular letter, I want to talk about the good type of change. Graduation, welcoming new people, a new job, a new house. The good big changes.

First off, if you're reading this at your graduation, be it from high school or college or even grad school, I am so unbelievably proud of you. I've been praying for these moments since before you were even born. I knew you could do it. Making it through any level of school is an accomplishment and a change. I know that you feel safe or welcome or even just familiar with the school that you're at right now, but that doesn't mean you won't feel that way at the next school.

Maybe you're excited about the change and you are so ready to move on to your next step. In which case, I can't wait to help you set up your dorm or your apartment or help you plan what you're gonna wear to your first day at work. You should be excited. You're going to have so much fun!

The big steps are the scariest in my experience, when I first went away to college, I didn't tell my dad the first semester was starting until a week in. He was so mad at me. We packed up all my stuff in one night and didn't sleep for like two whole days. I wound up making it there and explaining to my professors why and everything was fine, but I was so scared to be that far away from home and everything I knew. I was in a completely new city and basically alone, and for the first few months, I came home every single weekend. That tough love came through my dad though, and he told me I had to stop coming home. I was pissed, but I did. I stayed at college. When I stayed at college and found my group... I couldn't have been happier. I made friends and got jobs in a new city. I made connections that I still talk to and that have helped me with career searches as well as personal steps. It was a huge change, and I got made fun of for my Chicago accent a lot, but I wouldn't change those days for anything.

Change is difficult. It will test you and your strength, but it will also keep you from staying in the same place. If you never change, nothing will ever change. Change is an amazing thing and it will help you accomplish all the big events in your life. And no matter how scary it gets, you always have friends and family by your side. Tyler, your 'unkers,' was my best friend at the time, and he helped me get through being away at college. He and the rest of my friends at the time came and stayed with me a couple of weekends that I felt homesick. Change is scary and hard, but with the right people and the confidence in yourself that I know you have, you have the power to get through it and enjoy it.

Confidence is key when it comes to change. Confidence in yourself to do amazing. You've come this far. You've made it through change, maybe not as big as this one, but you have done it before. You have no reason to believe that you can't do this. Chances are that you have failed before at something, but why shouldn't this time be different? You are so strong and you have every reason to believe in yourself. My beautiful baby, from day one I knew you were destined for great things. You are my miracle and you should remind yourself that you're a miracle every single day. Keep your chin up, gorgeous. Life is taking you where you are supposed to go, you just have to keep moving!

The adrenaline from change is really scary but also really cool. Moving or graduating or changing jobs or homes... it's a lot. You're moving away from a place you feel safe and at home but it's also exciting. You get to go explore a different place and experience the change in yourself as well as the place around you. Sometimes, location change is enough to bring out an outstanding change in yourself. Change helps you grow and blossom into the person you were meant to be. And I know you were meant to be amazing, my dear.

Go. Enjoy. Bloom. Be brave.

I love you to the moon and back!

~Mommy

children
Like

About the Creator

Michelle Schultz

I'm mostly an editorial writer. I love to share my opinions and experiences. I don't hold back and I swear so if you take offense easily, my articles probably aren't for you. I'm a single mom just trying to stay sane.

@loreleismom

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.