Families logo

Livin the Dream

Sweet Dreams but livin' nightmare?

By Roni JonesPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
Livin the Dream
Photo by Henry Be on Unsplash

Wake up, We’re in London!

The clouds in the blue sky looked far more interesting than when we were on the ground. I love flying, it has always been my favorite part of a trip . There was something freeing about being thousands feet above the ground where all your problems are. Some people enjoy long car rides whereas if I could, I would take a plane to clear my thoughts every night.

I stared out the window thinking about everything that stressed me out letting it go with the view. My thoughts were interrupted by my fraternal twin sister, Kaia.

We’re originally from Turks and Caicos, moved around a few times and now we lived in Canada. Three weeks ago, we won a graduation raffle and they gave us twenty thousand dollars to go on a trip anywhere in the world. Since this is our final summer together before we split off into university, we wanted to go to our dream place.

I’m going to get my bachelor’s of image arts and she is going to med school. We put the fraternal in fraternal twins the way we couldn’t be more different yet similar to each other. It’s complicated to explain like everything else in life.

“Look, what I brought”, she said, shaking a little black in front of me that I hardly recognized.

“A little black book?”, I wondered what was the point of this weird item.

“This is our dream book”, she said excitedly. I furrowed my eyebrows signaling her to continue.

“When we were like only twelve years old, we had those consistent dreams for a week. Our dreams would intersect so mom told us to write them down here”, she held up the book and I took it from her.

A smile crept on my lips as I started to remember that week. We wrote it off as some twin telepathy thing but it was quite exciting. Taking naps, going to sleep earlier and waking up just talk about our dreams. We had never been so close or happy to share something.

“I saw it in the attic and started reading it. This is how the dream starts. With us travelling by ourselves for the first time to London”.

“Probably because we have wanted to go since we were like eight”, I raised an eyebrow at her.

“Naia, what if the dream is actually coming true?”, she asked with an excited look that I knew to shut down immediately.

“I’m going to stare at the clouds and prepare myself for London. You keep those crazy thoughts in your head not mine”, I said dismissing the crazy idea.

She pouted jokingly, taking the book away from me as I chuckled lightly. I went back to looking out of the window. The plane ride didn’t feel that long honestly. Kaia slowly just fell asleep reading the book of our dreams. I rested my head on top of hers allowing myself to drift off as well.

She’s so naive for a future doctor. How is it scientifically possible for this to happen?

When we got to London, we had a driver there waiting for us. She was a polite lady who kindly took our bags and guided us into the nice town car.

As we drove to the hotel, we were mesmerized by the sight in London. I looked into Kaia’s brown eyes as she looked into mine. We both shared the excitement of being in our dream paradise. I instantly started daydreaming about how exciting our week here would be. Maybe we could even have one of those summer flings?

We got to the hotel and our eyes were widened by the beautiful view. The building stood at least twenty floors high. The ceiling was high with chandeliers hanging off of them. The entire lobby was carpeted with artistic patterns of maroon, beige and brown. The walls were brown but the pillars inside cream. This is so amazing! We got checked in and headed off to our room to start unpacking and planning.

“They have a gym, pool, restaurant, spa and a lot more”, Kaia read off of a brochure.

“Our tour guide doesn’t get here until tomorrow so we should definitely take the chance to explore the hotel today”, I said, putting one of my dresses on a hanger. When I didn’t hear an answer from Kaia, I turned around to see her eyes widened in astonishment.

“What?” I asked, confused.

“That’s exactly what happens next in the book!”, she gushed.

“We are teenagers in a hotel, in a new country by ourselves for the first time in our lives. Of course we want to run around and do all the things we couldn’t with them”.

“You’re such a literal dream killer!”. She sighed, throwing herself back onto the bed.

And people say I’m extra?

I felt a little bad for continuously shooting her ridiculous notion so I decided to to join her for a second.

“Can’t believe I’m doing this”, I whispered under my breath before giving in.

“What’s next in the book?”, I asked, zipping up my suitcase. She immediately beamed happiness as she took up the book flipping through the pages.

“We find a secret room that only the staff know about and find the roof entrance”, she said, running her eyes along the pages. I put on my shoes and started packing a small bag. Kaia didn’t move so I looked up at her with my right eyebrow raised.

“Get ready to literally live out our dreams”, I said to see a smile break out on her face.

Maybe I’m a little extra.

She quickly got ready and we were out.

The dreams can’t be real for reasons, my twin can’t even know. There are things that we went through because of those reasons. What am I stressing for though, it’s just a dream.

Let’s call what happens next Deja Vu because that’s the only logical explanation.

literature
1

About the Creator

Roni Jones

Hey, I'm Roni. I'm seventeen eyar old from the Caribbean who currently lives in North America. I write stories, poems and give advice. Always open to suggestions as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.