Families logo

Little Black Book

The Treasure of The Little Black Book

By J.ClarkPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
The Mystery

Oh No! It’s 6 o’clock I’m late for my morning run! I jump in the shower, get dressed in my fitness gear, and pitter-patter, pitter-patter, pitter-patter was the sound of the rain pouring down ugh, what am I going to do now! It’s raining cats and dogs outside. What can I do to pass the time on my day off? Hmmm.... ding! Got it! I can invite a few of my friends over for dinner, conversation, and fun games, it’s been a while since we hung out. This will be a great time to get reacquainted and catch up on each other’s lives. Yes, let me go grab my little black book and prepare for a beautiful evening with friends. As I go to my bedroom to grab my black book out of my antique inherited dresser passed down to me from my grandmother before she passed away. I found my black book and a second book was stuck under one of the dresser drawers. Yank! Got it! I pulled the second book out from underneath the drawer, Oh! Another, little black book. Cough! Cough! Hack, hack, this book is dusty, I said. This book must have been in the drawer for decades. I began to open the book to read it. The book read This book belongs to, Josie Richards, Hey, that’s Nana Josie! What is nana doing with a little black book, I laughed. As I started reading on out of curiosity, I stumbled across a note that read, I’m leaving an inheritance in the amount of 20,000 dollars to my beloved granddaughter Kai Richards. In Shock! I yelled out, OMG! That’s Me! I proceeded to read on, and learned that Nana Josie had left a large sum of money in a dark chestnut-colored chest up in the attic, the funds were enclosed in a safe inside the chest. I guess this does day has become a treasure hunt. Wow! Who knew nana would leave me some money? Now that I think of it nana and I were close, I talked to nana almost every day, she gave great advice, words of wisdom and was good at saving. Well, let's go find this money! I go up to the attic with my flashlight, Oh My! I forgot it has been a long time since I have been up here. So many memories. This house was also passed down to me by my father. It's so creepy and dark up here. Finally, I spot the chest. Nana must have really been into antique things because this chest is beautifully made, but old and creaking. . I open the chest. Oh my gosh no safe! Where is the safe? I start to panic about an inheritance I did not even know I had until about 10 minutes ago. What do I do? Oh, I know! I will call mom and see if she knows anything about nana leaving me 20,000 dollars. Ring, Ring, Ring, Mom picks up, Hello Kai, mom says. I start to speed talk mom, mom have you seen a safe that was hidden in the attic, in a dark chestnut- chest, nana left a large sum of money to me, and now the safe is gone! Woah! Woah! Kai! Slow down, breathe. Breathing… mom responds, Yes Kai, I know about the money your grandmother left, your dad knew as well, he took the safe out of the chest because the attic needed some repairs, he was going to move everything out of the attic to have it repaired and remodeled, but he got sick and before he passed, he made sure he gave the safe to me to give to you. Whew! Thank you, mom. To be continued......

grandparents
1

About the Creator

J.Clark

Creative Writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.