Families logo

Little biscuits and a doll with real hair

My happy little childhood

By Denise HarrisPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
2

When I tell you I was raised in the country, I mean it. I grew up in the Delta of Mississippi. Yazoo County, Mississippi to be exact. Saying that today makes me wanna throw up, but when I was younger, I was proud of where I came from. It's funny how that childlike vision changes when you're older. My mamaw is the one that I say raised me. I know without a shadow of a doubt my morals and standards came from her. She taught me everything. From how to check the hen's nest for chicken eggs to how to be a debutant. Mamaw and Papaw lived on a farm with all kinds of animals, a smoke house, a cabin and a pond. I can still smell that smokehouse to this day. GROSS!

My Papaw owned every bar and honky tonk in the county. Mamaw used to have kitchens in those bars where she cooked hamburgers and things to sell. She always had the sweetest black ladies working for her. They all called me punkin. Yes, it was still very black and white when I was little. Especially in Mississippi. I used to get off the bus at the bar and mamaw would set me at the bar with a coke and some peanuts. Those were the days lol.

My Papaw and my dad were farmers. They grew soybeans and things like that. When I was 13 I worked through the hot summer days chopping cotton. Yep, this 45 year old woman chopped cotton! I was in fact the only female in the field with all the boys. I worked in the field for 2 summers then started working after school at the grocery store in town. Much easier I have to say. Matter of fact, that grocery store job has always been my favorite job. Sunflower....... makes me smile every time I think about it.

Papaw was known in the county as being a scoundral. He had girlfriends left and right. The most famous one was named Linda. Oh Lord, Linda was something else y'all. Honestly, I don't remember too much about her except her kids names because I went to school with them. Yep, that was fun. Facing those kids everyday knowing my papaw was paying for their clothes and stuff.... pissed me off everyday. Every time I hear that Conway Twitty song," Linda on my mind" or whatever the name of it is, I think about Papaw and Linda lol.

Mamaw and Papaw couldn't read or write. I remember trying to teach Mamaw how to read. I would always tell her that before she died I would make sure she knew how to read. She would tell me that reading was overrated. She would say "I've gotten through life this long not reading a lick, why do I need to start now?". I suppose she was right. She died without reading a lick but she could grow the most beautiful gardens and cook the most wonderful meals. She made three meals a day. For breakfast, she would have eggs, sausage, bacon, grits and biscuits. We always set the table which included the butter dish, jelly, salt and pepper shakers and papaws yellow pineapple looking water jug. We always had the table ready before he got out of the shower in the mornings.

For lunch we usually did something quick but supper time was always big and my biscuits were always little. She would make me little bity biscuits and say "I make little bity biscuits for my little bity baby." (I was never little bity anything lol) I loved, loved, loved her tacos. And she made the best gouhlosh. I don't know how to spell it and I'm too tired to look it up but it was the best! And oh my gosh the butter rolls.... my mouth is just dripping with drool right now. Those ooey gooey buttery sugary things.... what you talkin' about! Mmm Mmmm Mmmmmm.

Not only could she grow stuff and cook, she was very creative and could sew clothes like nobody's business y'all. She made alot of my clothes! She made me bubble pants and these romper things. I absolutely loved them. The one thing she did that was so amazing was, she took these old plastic dolls and restored them. These dolls stood like two feet tall. She found one in the dumpster and she cleaned it all up and made it a burgandy satin dress that had lace around the collar and sleeves. She put white baby shoes on it and lace socks. For the hair, this was the neat part. I had very long hair. It was so long I used to sit on it. My mom cut my hair and Mamaw kept it. She also had hair of her mothers that she had kept. She took the hair and glued it to the dolls head and made a type of wig. She then curled the hair and styled it. It was the most beautiful doll I had ever seen and it had mine and my Granny's real hair on it. My ex husband destroyed it. (my stories never end on a happy note lol)

If you are enjoying my stories be kind and leave a tip. I'm wanting to publish a book and your donation would help. Thanks so much for taking time out of your life to read about mine.

grandparents
2

About the Creator

Denise Harris

I have always wanted to be able to tell my life story. I have survived abuse from a drug addict and the trauma of having a child taken by people with political power and money. Thanks for taking time to read my story. - Denise Harris

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.