Families logo

Life of a Stay at Home Wife and Mother

The Realization of the Future

By R WilliamsPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

As a stay at home wife and mother of a three-year-old, I can tell you that it is the most rewarding experience of my life. I love being able to take care of my daughter and be at home to have dinner ready for my husband every night. Although I love every aspect of it, it is anything but glamorous.

It seems like every Monday morning after I get my wonderful husband out the door for work, I realize the weekend has barfed all over our home. Mud tracked throughout the house from a long day of play. Laundry that never quite made it into the dirty clothes basket. Toys that I step on and curse in my mind. So I spend all day getting the house back in order, chasing our wild three-year-old down and cleaning the same messes up at least five times. Lunchtime arguments because she wanted a PB & J and then changed her mind after it was made. By the end of the day, when hubby comes home, the house is nearly trashed again. Then, the dreaded "What did you do today?" Again, cursing in my mind. Starting the same routine all over again the next day.

You can no longer go to the bathroom alone. You can no longer shower alone. Your meals are no longer just yours, but if on the off chance they are, they're cold when you finally get to them. You find yourself begging the lord for it to be nap time because you just want to eat the piece of chocolate without little fingers pulling on your clothes, asking for a bite.

One day you'll realize something. Something that will literally kick the breath out of you. Something that will absolutely make you want to throw up. This is temporary. You won't always have three piles of clothes to wash after a long day of play with your family. Lunch and dinner time arguments will be a thing of the past. No more toys to step on and curse in your mind about. You can finally use the bathroom in peace. Your meal will be hot and you can enjoy it. Your life will be peaceful and quiet. After all, that was what you were wishing for. Right?

Life isn't as glamorous as they make it seem on television and that's okay. Give me the chaos, the fights and all the other stuff. I want to enjoy these years with my family. So what if my husband takes his clothes off and throws them by the basket instead of in it. So what if my three-year-old leaves all her toys on the living room floor for me to step on. Is it going to kill me? Absolutely not.

Enjoy every single second of every single day with your family. Whether you stay at home or you're a working parent. Time goes by way too fast and before you know it, the kids are gone. All you have left is the memories you made. This. Is. Temporary.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.