Families logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Life of a Depressed African Teen

Are there good times?

By RicoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Life of a Depressed African Teen
Photo by Mubarak Showole on Unsplash

"You know a trick I use for overdose, I chug it all. Then, when my reflex finds it too much and tries to push it out, I down a large amount of water and pray I don't throw it out. All this to remove the bitter taste.

Lately, things have been more shitty than ever. My laptop is bad and no phone. I have no one. I'm on zero mental health. I don't have anything I can smile for. All I want to do is eat and die.

I saw Gideon today, see how well he's doing? I'm the opposite. You know, back then, I always thought I was better, but now I'm nothing.

I have nothing. I wish it can all end as swear. What's more to come and torment me? The little friends I kept would have forgotten me by now. I'm alone. Is there someone there please? Anyone?

Lately, I've felt like praying, but it's all crap cause there's nothing there. I would just be a bigger hypocrite.

I want to die.

You know, every day, I'm reminded I'm a failure by my mind. I think that's the worst thing that can happen. It's just like a little voice whispering on and on of how much I am of a failure. I used to have happy moments, you know, now I can't think of a positive thought. They say most success story is born from failure, mine is a suicide story.

Just one thing to make me truly happy is all I ask. I see the strain I give my parents."

"Been long since I wrote here. Well, things seem to have stabilized. I am alive, I can say. Lots of things happened recently. I know I said a writer should not divulge his private life, but this is my biography, so why not?

So recently, I saw Isotu. She is going to school today. We hugged, and now I'm sad. I do not know why? Maybe I did consider her a friend after all, but what's the use? We all lose them when they get to school.

I had sexual intercourse with Favour. It was overrated, I would say. Apart from me sweating like a pig, is that sex?

Life still doesn't look straight. I need help, but I'm fine for now. And yes, I do need love. I think it's a good remedy."

Dear readers,

I want to take a moment to address an important topic that has been explored in this story. It is crucial to understand that self-harm is a harmful and dangerous behavior that should never be encouraged or glorified. Instead, it is essential to promote understanding, compassion, and seeking help for those struggling with mental health issues.

In the narrator's journey, they express feelings of despair, loneliness, and a lack of support. They contemplate harmful actions as a way to cope with their pain. However, it is crucial to emphasize that self-harm is not a solution, and there are healthier alternatives available.

I understand that cultural beliefs and attitudes can sometimes hinder seeking professional help for mental health issues. It's important to recognize that mental health is just as important as physical health. Seeking counseling or therapy can provide a safe and supportive space to address and manage these challenges.

To all readers, I encourage you to change your mindset regarding mental health. Let us challenge the stigma surrounding it and acknowledge that seeking help is a sign of strength, not weakness. Remember that there are professionals, friends, and loved ones who are willing to listen and offer support.

If you or someone you know is struggling, please reach out to a mental health professional, a helpline, or a trusted individual in your life. You are not alone, and there is always hope for a brighter tomorrow.

All things pass, and there is a better way forward. You are deserving of understanding, care, and support. Please prioritize your well-being and take the first step towards seeking help.

With compassion and hope,

fact or fictionadvice

About the Creator

Rico

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    RicoWritten by Rico

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.