Families logo

Life lessons from a 5 month old

A poem with an explanation

By Madeline KeysPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
2

To look off in the distance and smile,

joy in simplicity.

Full reliance not a question of rejection.

Naturally authentic,

no other option.

And I'm supposed to teach you?

I wrote this quick little poem about my baby girl while looking at her fall asleep with a big smile spread across her little face. She was genuinely happy, and I could tell. Her belly was full of milk and her little heart satisfied, she had everything she could ever need. I think of all the times I've laid in bed, unable to fall asleep because of worry. Sometimes I worry about the future and other times I regret the past. But if only to be like her, grateful for everything I do have, even if just for the bed I sleep in. If only to be completely in the present and allow myself to fully enjoy a moment of peace with no worries of the endless possibilities of tomorrow. Tomorrow may hold some daunting unknowns but it's not here yet.

For her, trust is never even an option. She believes she will be cared for and her actions show that. She has had no bad experiences like the rest of us that holds her back in any way from fully trusting. Her little brain has no memory of anyone lying to her or letting her down. She knows she will have all her needs met, and that she will be held, fed and loved. At times she throws her head back just knowing that I will catch her. In certain moments, she doesn't even know that I'm protecting her from herself. What is danger?The world is to be explored! She is so blissfully unaware of all the little ways I make sure everyday that she has a safe space all around her. She trusts in ways I wish I would trust.

She never worries or stresses thinking she may be rejected for an action she does. Even when she is upset, she never tries to hide her emotions in fear of rejection...in fact she simply cannot hide anything. When she is angry, she shows anger, when she is sad, she shows sadness, and when she is happy, her joy bubbles up in laughter or a contagious smile! When she is excited, she lets out a squeal of delight and her whole body jumps with joy. How freeing to allow yourself to feel and show emotions without fear of rejection, confidently knowing that those who say that love you will continue to do so.

She may be small and she may be young but some lessons in life are just so simple we complicate them. Some of the most valuable lessons in life are not taught, but observed. My daughter is completely herself, and hasn't learned to hide any part of herself yet. I'd like to say I have mastered all these lessons but I still worry about many little things. Many little stupid things. I still far too often hide my true feelings in fear of rejection. And I don't trust people easily, even people who have shown me they are trustworthy. I'm learning new things everyday watching my little girl. She may never know all the ways she inspires me, whether big or small.

I appreciate you taking time to read this. If you liked what you read please take a moment to like and share with friends and family. Also be sure to check out my profile to see more topics I've written on and if you're feeling generous my tips are always open. Thank you!

children
2

About the Creator

Madeline Keys

I'm just a writer trying to find her voice. I'm passionate about writing things I'm learning about and things I've experienced.

I hope you enjoy exploring my page!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.