Families logo

Life As a Single Mom

My Life As a Single Mother

By Phoenix CobainPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

The life of a single mother isn't all fun and games. It's not at all glamourous. It's dirty, upsetting, tedious, and hard work. It's having to play both good-cop and bad-cop. It's having to say no when deep down you wish you could say yes. It's missing out on sleep when your little ones are sick. It's impromptu doctor visits. It's cleaning food up from off the floor. It's scrubbing permanent marker from the walls. It's tripping over Legos in the dead of the night. It's kissing boo-boos and chasing away boogey monsters. It's hospital visits for broken bones and stitches. It's helping with homework. It's sleepless nights filled with lots of endless worrying. It's missing out on meals so that your children can eat. It's passing up a new pair of shoes for yourself so that your children won't have to do the same. It's making sure your bills and rent are paid so your children won't be homeless or have to go without heat and electricity. It's mending broken hearts and helping your children to achieve their dreams. It's attending concerts, sporting events, spelling bees, and school plays. It's bath-time fun and bedtime hassle. It's balancing work and home. Being a single mother isn't an easy job and it sure as hell isn't for the weak. Being a single mom has its ups and it's downs. I didn't sign up to be a single mother. Believe me there was never a time in my life where I woke up and thought "Gee, I wonder what it would be like to be a single mom." If I'd wanted to love and care for children on my own I would never have wanted a man in my life, I would have just gone to my local sperm bank and told them to fill me up. It would have saved me a hell of a lot of time and trouble. Being a single mom is a thankless job. I don't get paid for what I do. I don't get any awards or any vacation time. What I do get is a lifetime of hugs, sticky kisses, lots of "I love you" and a lifetime of knowing that my children are who and what they are because I, as their mother, cared enough to not only have them but to give them all of my time, love, and attention. Seeing my children grow into loving, responsible human beings and knowing that it is due to my influence is all the reward this single mama could ever ask for. I got a message to all of the single moms out there who may be reading this article at this very moment: I know it's hard. I feel your struggle. Just know, that in the end, it will all be worth it. I promise.

You don't need a man in your life and neither do your children. You got this. You are strong. Your strength and your hustle will be remembered by your children for as long as they live. Trust me your struggle will make your children strong, independent human beings.

As for all of the deadbeat dads out there: you are not needed by neither your children nor your ex's. Your baby mama has things all under control.

Just remember later on in life when your children grow up and fail to acknowledge your ass that you earned every bit of their disdain. You walked out and missed out on all of the good and the bad and in doing so you also lost out on the privilege of being called "Daddy." I hope the single life was worth a lifetime of wearing the deadbeat label.

I know myself being a single mom there ain't nothing in this world I wouldn't do for my children. I could never turn my back on them. My children are my heart and soul. My world revolves around my children and I love them with all of my heart.

children
Like

About the Creator

Phoenix Cobain

Phoenix escaped her gilded cage and rose from the ashes broken yet beautiful.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.