Families logo

Letters to my daughter

Introduction

By Sanshine K MalamaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Dear Bubbles,

I must first begin by letting you know why this letter contains no name. The following reasons apply:

1. You may not identify as a particular gender. Lord knows what I must prepare for. I imagine it is a little beyond what I view as right in my era; but I am excited to learn! The very first point is to tell you that I love you; any form you are. Bubbles is my favourite word because, who doesn't like bubbles?

2. You come in the form of my godsons and daughters and many young women ( et al) who have been inspired by my journey.

3. Sometimes, you take on the form of a young me, for the moment that I had you.

2. Gen Z for us Millenials, appears to be an alien specie - bold, tenacious, unafraid to challenge authority. Whilst we admire it, a lot of us know not which lines are which. Perhaps, it is because, whilst we exist in the same space, our worlds are parallel. Blurred lines. I hope the rest of the letters offer some clarity.

So, why these letters?

Think of them as an insight into mummy's world and a sort of manual to help you navigate me. Am I a machine?

Who knows? There are a lot of theories around our existence. Some say, we live in a simulation of sorts. That, the world as we know it, our naked eye only see a teeny weeny tiny fraction of it. This is mummy's way of telling you she understands what the scientists are saying; she just does not care for the mathematics of it.

If that is true, then I may well be a machine, given that I have spent years following instructions, often not knowing why; something Gen Z are not afraid to challenge. I do envy their courage.They remind me of the wonderful Maya Angelou's words " - without courage, we cannot practice any other virtues consistently". What a woman. I see this in the Gen Z and they remind me or my rebellious twenties, when I was not afraid to challenge authority, to ask questions, to speak out so loud unafraid of the consequences - if it meant keeping someone safe - or me? I don't know. But it takes me there.

Somewhere along the way; this voice disappeared.

I hope these letters will help me navigate and understand myself, as well as how can be a better mother to you. I know that we will be fight for independence, I am fully aware that I will worry fret and embarass you.

You will test me, exasperate me, sometimes test me too far.

I may lose my temper and call you ungrateful.

You may have found some slang I am unaware of; to challenge me.

Laws I may not agree with.

Opinions you may not see as fair.

Tones I will see as rude or defiant. Groups of friends that will trigger me as I fear for your safety and the threat of losing you.

I also know that we will have great times D, family times, whatever that will look like.

What I do know, is that these experiences are normal in that, the people we meet are often broken,, in their own beautiful way.

Charity begins at home. For me, that means fixing this personal house, to be as open minded and self aware as I can be, that I can make room to learn about you and who YOU are.

So, I write "letters to my daughter" as a lot of these experiences and perspectives are as a experienced by one who identifies as a daughter and a woman; understanding that these experiences are not limited to my form.

Read on. It will be shameless.

XoXo PW

children
Like

About the Creator

Sanshine K Malama

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.