Families logo

Last Summer

Letting go of some sad memories

By Sati RosePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I remember the last year I lived in North Carolina. I remember the previous day so vividly that you would think it was yesterday. I was about 8 or 9 and a couple of weeks before I had celebrated my birthday, so I was still fascinated with my new Bratz dolls, coloring books, and purple bike with pink streamers. Since it was summer vacation as well as some of my mom’s family members. We had all stayed in our smallish 3-bedroom home laughing and playing while each day repeated itself. Until one night while we were sleeping, I began to hear things moving around and people talking and immediately after this my mom woke us all up and told us to get ready to leave. We hurriedly got up and went to the car, which was usually normal for us because my mom would have to take my dad to work or pick him up from work at these hours, so none of us were alarmed.

During the drive, we all immediately fell back asleep expecting to magically wake back up in our beds as we would usually do. However, this time when I woke up, we were still on the road, and we were in a place I did not recognize, and my mother and grandmother were talking. I don’t remember exactly what they were saying but I remember that they kept talking about my mother’s family and how it would be great when my siblings and I would finally get to meet them. After a couple of hours of continuing this path, we finally stopped at a restaurant I had never been to before and still cannot remember the name of, but I do remember having chocolate chip waffles for the first time. I remember the whole experience and how it was weird for me. I had been uprooted from my home and brought to this weird restaurant in the middle of nowhere.

As I sat on the tall stools with my siblings and cousins, I remembered my surroundings being like something from a movie. It reminded me of one of those Diners you would see in movies from the 90’s it was full of truckers and hitchhikers, and I believe maybe one other family with children. The restaurant smelled like coffee and fresh toast and the waitresses were kind and warm. Even the truckers were welcoming and talking to my mom and grandmother about what route they should take. The first thing that came to mind for me was that I couldn’t wait until we got to see my dad so I could tell him about the restaurant. I was excited to tell him about how I felt like a grown-up when I ordered my food. As we continued to wait, I felt excited about our journey even though I had no idea where we were going and what time we’d be back home. I began to turn in my chair out of sheer boredom and was soon scolded by my grandmother for doing so.

The moment she was done the waitress sat my food in front of me and I was so excited to be eating chocolate chip waffles for the first time. It was like having dessert for breakfast. I remember the beautiful aroma of the chocolate and the presentation on the plate was very appetizing. I fully ignored the grits, sausage, and eggs for a while and began to pour syrup all over the waffles, and began to take my first bite. The waffles were hots and delicious and the chocolate chips just made it 100 times better in my little 8-year-old mind. At that moment I was on cloud nine and I felt so comfortable and happy. I couldn’t wait to tell my dad about it so we could come there again with him. Sadly, I didn’t know at the time that I wouldn’t see my dad again for a couple of months and that that summer would be the end of the happy life I was living before.

values
Like

About the Creator

Sati Rose

I am a 24-year-old student who likes to write in her free time! My life is not great right now but I am going to keep on pushing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.