Families logo

Judgement

There's No Such Thing As "Perfect" When It Comes To Being A Mother

By TashaPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

A

My baby has a rash on his forehead and obviously it's itchy & he wants to scratch it. We all know you can break skin when scratching a rash especially, but my baby doesn't know this, he doesn't even know what going on. It's itchy, he scratches, now it's bleeding and it hurts. So he cries and has been now for the last 3 hours.

We are already out & about so I go to the drug store & I ask for help.

I guess I'm a complete idiot because I didn't take the time to read & compare scientific ingredients on the back of 17 brands of baby creams/ointments while my child was fussing in the background.

I guess Its abuse because he's not wearing mittens to stop him from scratching this rash. (I have tried using this method but the mittens don't stay on his hands.)

I guess I neglect my child because I don't cut his fingernails. (I cut his nails every other day)

I guess I'm a terrible mother because I look exhausted & appear to have no control over my babies crying. I may not be 100 percent accurate on exactly what he is crying about but I am using my best judgment to figure it out. Yes, I'm exhausted because when he doesn't sleep, I don't sleep & I definitely don't speak 'baby' but I know when something is hurting him & it may be on a different level but i can feel his pain. So here I am doing everything in my power to take it away.

I guess it's my fault he has a rash. I guess that although these creams & ointments may soothe the pain & itching caused from the rash, there's "nothing in this store that going to fix the underlying issue".

The underlying issue clearly being me as a mother. Me, a single, first time mother. Me, one person who is mother & father. Me, the person that spends every moment with or looking after my child. Me, the mother who is not perfect & learning as I go. Me, the one asking for a little help because I already feel helpless.

Help that I absolutely regret asking for. It seems like every time you ask for any kind of help or advice regarding your child, the responses you recieve are ones that either belittle your parenting skills or make you feel guilty for asking. When my baby boy was born, I was told that this can & will be an overwhelming experience & when someone offers to help, you never turn it down. I was blown away with the amount of friends & family that have offered such help. However, when it comes down to the one little time that you need it & make your request, it suddenly seems like an obligation.

B

children
Like

About the Creator

Tasha

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.