Families logo

Journal Entry 2-19-2021

Getting The Kids Ready For School

By Audie EdwardsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
7
Journal Entry 2-19-2021
Photo by Green Chameleon on Unsplash

5:10 a.m.

Getting my kiddo's ready for school, the plant is still down. My dad ( stepdad ) shift is still working in the steel room though.

Sitting here as the kids ready and I have the crappiest cup of coffee.

As one child tells me they need something.

Taking a breath still exhausted, I get up and retrieve the much-needed piece of clothing.

Coming back to continue writing this journal, I then take another sip of this horrendous coffee. Torani classic caramel syrup and a bit of vanilla creamer, in my cup every sip I gag. To me, it is like liquor without a burn. I'm not a drinker.

But a drinker of coffee that I am. The aroma in the air I can taste it. Men's Cologne from bath and body, as my oldest daughter sprays a ton on herself.

Believing she now smells like some sort of anime character.

5:25 a.m.

Getting my little bit, my baby girl, my youngest daughter to blow dry her hair.

It is freaking cold outside. Getting up to check on her just to see how it is going.

The blow dryer is in her sleeves, not her hair. Putting the hairdryer down as to be finished. Your hair isn't dried baby I said, as the clock says 5:30, and still, her socks and shoes need to be put on.

Stopping every few minutes to suck on her thumb.

I need to break her from this habit, yes, I know. It is something I mention every day, middle school for her is next year.

Wishing, I could rewind the time and my babies are babies again.

Red, being a freshman in high school now ready to learn how to drive. Six-teen in November.

John is in seventh grade and thirteen in April.

My YouTube star his dreams are becoming reality with over 3.1k views.

Trinity is in Fifth grade and eleven years old in May. Growing way too fast

She dreams of being a dancer and a make-up artist.

She had done dance class before we moved and she loved it.

My babies are smart they tend to bring home good grades.

While at home Red, plays guitar loves to read, and writes stories.

Trying to get her to create an account on vocal and show her work off under an alias.

No one will know it is you. She still refuses to and she is terrified as to what others would think.

Trinity loves to pick her little mind.

She and I write together at times. She loves to write scary stories.

She had received a green ribbon at school yesterday for writing.

So proud of her.

John, computer wizard just like his poppaw ( my dad ) extremely proud, some things he has to show me how to do.

My little businessman, I call him.

6:05 a.m.

Red, is now done getting ready sitting on her bed listening to David Bowie.

She is an old soul like my brother Tim, who celebrates Elvis Presley's birthday every year. He buys a cake and puts happy birthday Elvis on it.

My dad Jim, got Red into Michael Jackson, played a few of his songs. She was then hooked. She had listened to songs Michael Jackson, done that I had never heard.

Blood on the dance floor.

Never heard it until Red, played it.

She too had to get a cake a celebrate his birthday.

Dad Jim played Prince she fell in love with his music as well.

The celebration of Michael Jackson's birthday was only once with us.

Her father and I got back together and it had stopped. Chuck isn't big on Michael Jackson.

We were being surprised when one of his songs played on the radio, Chuck turned it up for it.

We were all surprised, that did not happen often.

children
7

About the Creator

Audie Edwards

I am an amateur writer, who loves to write poems.

I feel poetry is my only escape from reality. I love to play with the imagination a little and get Dark. We all have nightmares and fears

I just put mine to work in a beautifully written poem.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.