Families logo

It's the Most Wonderful Time of the Year

Why we Give

By Bryan R..Published 2 years ago 3 min read
3
It's the Most Wonderful Time of the Year
Photo by Rodion Kutsaev on Unsplash

I love Christmas.

I love the lights, the sounds, and the smells of the holiday. I love waking up early on Christmas morning with my kids, watching their excitement as they tear through the bows and wrapping paper to unveil the gifts housed inside. I love the romanticism of a white Christmas, and watching "It's a Wonderful Life" while nursing a steamy cup of hot chocolate. I love gathering on the porches of homes of those unable to venture outdoors and sing carols at the top of my lungs.

I love...Christmas shopping.

There, I said the "S" word.

Some complain that Christmas has become too commercialized. It's a grievance that goes back decades. Even Charlie Brown regretted the commercialization of Christmas when Lucy wished for real estate and Sally wrote up an extensive toy list along with the desire for cold hard cash in bundles of 'tens and twenties'. Sure, if one despises Black Friday Specials and door buster deals, those hampered by a "bah hum bug" mentality will naturally dread the Christmas Season. However, if one takes a moment to ponder the "why" of gift giving, quite possibly the joy of the season will be restored.

By freestocks on Unsplash

So, why do we give gifts?

Christian or not...the nativity story has a significant influence on the tradition of Christmas gift-giving. During their quest to find the Christ Child, the Wisemen bore gifts of gold, frankincense, and myrrh to give to the newborn King. These costly items showered respect and reverence for the One born King of the Jews. Christians bestow gifts on family and friends to remember the presents given by the Wisemen to Baby Jesus. Therefore, on Christmas we give to commemorate the act of giving.

By freestocks on Unsplash

So, let's revisit something written earlier, 'I love Christmas shopping.'

I'm not a Black Friday shopper. Wrestling the mobs for 99 cent socks isn't my cup of tea. Nor am I necessarily a Christmas Eve shopper, though I have been known to rush out and buy one or two last stocking stuffers. My wife and I normally hit the mall or big box store a couple of weeks before Christmas. By this time, the kids' lists have been finalized. My wife and I plan a date night. We grab a bite to eat and then hunt for the items on the list...well, the items that are reasonable and affordable. My kids understand "Santa's" checking account isn't unlimited. Without going into debt, we do our best to buy the kids things they need and a few of the things they want. On Christmas morning, my wife and I love to watch them rip off the wrapping paper and enjoy their presents. Amid the giggles, laughter and smiles of Christmas morning, they keep in mind the 'why' of giving.

Certainly, for some focusing on the actual gift and not the giving, Christmas can be a disappointment. Some children wish for high dollar items and consider Christmas morning a huge letdown when opening their gifts. But, just because some kids don't get what they want, shouldn't dampen the enthusiasm for giving. Maybe the key to keeping Christmas morning exciting for people of all ages is foster a lifestyle of giving throughout the year. Also, don't allow children's hopes to get up for something that is out of your price range. In our household, if a commercial airs advertising something flashy and shiny that entices our kids, if it's something that we can't afford, they know that even if it appears on their wish list, the odds of receiving it are slim. The key to gift giving is not to allow false hopes to exist. Explain that even Santa agrees with mom and dad's plan to live on a budget.

Shopping for Christmas is my thing. It brings joy to my heart to bless my family with gifts. And in so doing, I am modeling an act of giving that commenced two thousand years ago. So to me, it truly is the most wonderful time of the year.

children
3

About the Creator

Bryan R..

Husband. Father. Music and Youth Pastor. I enjoy writing as a hobby.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.