Families logo

It’s the climb

Tattoo #3 for my aunt

By kailey houlePublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
It’s the climb, baby.

I started getting tattoos when I was 16. I am now 19 and have 6 professional tattoos and 4 stick n pokes which I did myself. The mountains here on my ankle in the picture posted was my 3rd tattoo I’ve ever gotten done. I’ve always loved tattoos and dreamt of getting them as a child. Once I hit 16, I jumped at the opportunity to start getting tatted up.

This tattoo is my favourite out of all the ones I’ve gotten over the last few years because it holds such a deep meaning for me. My aunt sharon who used to be so full of life, started getting sick. She started seeing tons of doctors, (from in town, to out of town, to out of province) searching for answers as to why her health was depleting. She tried so many different prescribed medications, has received many different opinions from health professionals, and still, she wasn’t receiving the answers she desperately needed to save her from the suffering she was experiencing in her daily life. Everyday tasks such as getting out of bed and brushing her teeth were starting to get too hard for her. Unfortunately, still to this day, she hasn’t quite gotten the answers she’s looking for, the healing she deserves and she still suffers every single day.

These mountains represent the song, “the climb” by Miley Cyrus. When I was a little girl, before my aunt became ill, we used to sing this song together. In my grandmas kitchen, at family gatherings, anytime we had the chance to sing our hearts out; it was to the climb. It was and still is our song. Some of the lyrics are “There’s always gonna be another mountain, I’m always gonna wanna make it move. Always gonna be an uphill battle, sometimes you’re gonna have to lose. Ain’t about how fast I get there, ain’t about what’s waiting on the other side; it’s the climb”.

Even though my aunt suffers day to day, she still keeps climbing that mountain. Although she may lose sometimes in her battle of healing and finding the truth; she continues on her journey and fights everyday for this beautful life. It’s been years that she’s been dealing with this, and still she is patient with herself. She gets up everyday despite her struggles and conquers her fears. She is light and she holds so much hope and love in her heart. She understands that it’s not about what’s on the other side, and that life is about the journey; life is about the climb.

I love you aunt Sharon. You inspire me everyday to keep facing my fears and to keep climbing; despite the challenges. Keep fighting, and keep moving mountains!

- love Kailey and the whole fam jam❤️

extended family
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.