Families logo

It's Ok to Release Toxins

Even If They Are Your Family

By Amanda J MollettPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

No one wants to have toxic people in their lives taking their joy away or making them unhappy. But what do you do if the very people making you unhappy and plain miserable are the ones that share your blood? How do you walk away from your family? What do you do if they keep bringing you down?

It is definitely harder for someone who is so close with their families, especially if it is a parent that is causing the issues. I personally am not around my dad, because he chooses to not be an active person in my life, he chooses not to be a dad, and I choose to not put up with the same thing day in and day out. I just was fed up and I was not going to have my life and the life of my kids subjected to this every day. It was better for my mental health for me to get away from him so that my kids and I could be happy. And I do not regret that.

My husband, on the other hand, is very close to the toxic people in his life, and he does not want to let them go, even though he knows they do some of the shadiest things, and are not always on his side. I honestly do not even think my husband would believe half of the things that I knew if he knew them.

It does not matter who it is. It may be friends or family, even if it is the people closest to your heart, you have a right to be happy, and you can not be happy if those people are in your life if that is how they want to be. You can not allow them to be toxic, and be in your life, or the lives of your loved ones. If they can be a healthy and supportive person in your life then that is great. Not everyone is willing to change. Nor can they easily change, because they are too set in their ways, and have been for too long to change. Someone has to really change their ways, change their habits to remain in someone's life. You are the one who has to choose what you will allow, and what you will put up with. So, if you can deal with the abuse, the continued issues, and the break up of the relationships that should matter the most to you then, by all means, keep living your life the way you do. But if you want to break free set some limits, set boundaries that can not be crossed, and let them know if they want to be in your life something has to change, something has to give. The thing that has to give should not be your mental state, it should not be your sanity. It should not drive you crazy and make you unhappy just to have a certain person in your life, even if that person is your mother, your, father, or a sibling. Even if it is your spouse. We all know that our spouses drive us crazy, that is ok. That is what a spouse is supposed to do. Sometimes, if you want to choke your spouse, it is natural. But when your spouse is a toxic person who makes you feel bad about yourself, makes you feel inadequate, or makes you feel like it is enough, then it is time to make some changes. Try for your spouse, compromise, and talk to them, to see if it is a good thing to have them in your life, and let them go if it is not.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Amanda J Mollett

First, and foremost I am a mom…always . I am a proud mom of a graduate & artist. I am a author/writer and a journalist. I have multiple certificates in journalism and various writing certificates such as novel writing and creative writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.