Families logo

IS he Mr. Right part II

Family of 4

By Virginia GreenPublished 4 years ago 15 min read
Like

Hi, your friend Gin is back!

Hope everyone is enjoying my story as much as I am enjoying telling it.

My daughter, Amanda (Mandi) called and corrected me on her birthday; I apologize for the incorrect information, her birthday is June 19th, 1990; YUP the BIG 30 this year (she has a boy toddler)!!!! That sure makes me feel kind of old; plus the fact I have a almost 41 year old daughter and she has 6 children; her oldest son had a baby boy earlier this year and now she has a daughter that is getting ready to have a baby girl; I am blessed beyond words!! I hope and pray that I will get to meet them some day! They live in Ohio. That is all I am going to say for now; there WILL be more about them further in the story. I kind of got off the subject of the pregnancy of my daughter so I am going to back up to that and then skip over the part of my mom; I am trying to do all this is order but my mind goes faster than my fingers and I lose train of thought. Thank you for your patience and understanding.

Ok one thing I wanted to tell about is an experience I had when I was 8 months pregnant with Mandi. My first husband had a very good friend that would come around and visit. During one of these visits they advise me that they are going to run to the store real quick. I think nothing of it; I continue with my routine, cleaning, clothes taking care of Jonathan (5 1/2 years old now). Before I realize what time it is, I see that its getting dark. I think to my selft, the guys left about 5:30 what time is it anyway? I went and looked at the clock....8:30pm!!! I couldn't believe my eyes, where were they?? Were they hurt? Did they get arrested?? I just thought and thought of the worst things I could think of. This happened on a Friday night by the way. I do not remember the rest of the weekend; UNTIL they FINALLY get home at 9:30pm on SUNDAY!! I could not believe he just left me, no vehicle, no phone, with a young boy and could go into labor at any time! I looked at him; I said "Where the hell have you been" he looked at me and laughed "Galveston" all proud of himself. I went off on him; we had a HUGE arguement! You see my first husband was very abusive in severald ways. He abused me mentally, physically and sexually. He was very manipulative and controlling; he would constantly tell me it was because he loved me and he knew what was best and that I just needed to accept that.

Well, I didn't sleep in the bed that night, I slept on the couch; HE got the bed! I was not comfortable and didn't sleep worth 2 cents! We got up in the morning and he wanted to act like nothing happened. He was in the dog house for a while thats for sure! I had no where else to go; no family that I felt comfortable calling and asking to take me and two children for several months so I really didn't have a choice but to stay with him, so I did; I really did think I was doing the best for the kids; it didn't matter that I wasn't happy, the kids needed both parents.

********SIDE NOTE*****

Please, please, please do NOT stay in a relationship because you think its best for the kids that are in the middle; I found out the hard what that it is NOT! It RUINS them! My children saw and heard things that they NEVER should have as children; I am ashamed to admit that now, but there is nothing I can do to change what is already done!

Let me continue.......

Time goes on; after a couple dry runs to the hospital (I had the Braxton hicks with all 3 of my kids - fooled us every time! LOL); THE day FINALLY got there for my 3rd child; 2nd daughter; Amanda (Mandi) to come into this world. My husband preceeds to take me to the hospital; walk in there with me and then tell me "I am going to leave and go visit Chuck and Darryl"; Chuck was a guy he worked with at the shop that he got hurt at and we would go visit he and his life mate; Darryl and I got along great! LOL

I looked at him in disbelief ; we argued; he won of course! They lived within 5 miles of the hospital, he said he would be gone less than an hour, he left about 5pm; came back at 7:45pm - yes I was in labor; all hooked up and having contractions. He came up with all kinds of excuses; I just blew them off; I wanted to concentrate on having my baby; I was pretty sure it was a girl, I just had that feeling; the pregnancy was different that what it was with her brother; and with their oldest sister, well I was so young I remember bitand pieces of it; I know I gained 65 lbs. with her; I only gained 35 with Mandi (She does not like the name Amanda, she goes by Mandi), for the record with her brother I gained 40lbs. LOL

So he shows up at 7:45pm with a bunch of excuses. I do not remember much after that; once Mandi decided to get here, she did! I went into labor with her on her big sisters birthday June 18 (1979), here it was June 18, 1990; I was EXCITED that I MAY have my two girls exactly a year apart well Mandi arrived at 12:32am on June 19th, 1990. She was 6 oz bigger than her brother at birth; all three of my kids were 19 inches long! LOL ;I really don't remember a whole lot from this time. Obviously we went home; I wanted to have birth control surgery (tubes cut, tied AND burned); the doctor elected to do it like a week after her birth; I didn't understand why he wanted to wait; well I found out years later; it was so he could get paid more from the government; I was on the county for my medical expenses for my pregnancy with her.

At the time of her birth, we lived in an apartment complex; we had made good friends with this couple Robin and Randy; I do not remember what Robin did for work; I do remember she wore scrubs all the time, IF I remember correctly they were a light pink. Randy was the maintenance man at the complex we lived in; they had two kids, a boy and a girl; for the LIFE of me I can't remember that little boys name for nothing, I see his WHITE BLONDE hair and blue eyes; the little girls name was Kaitlyn (I think I spelled it right from memory?); she had the same white blonde hair and blue eyes; they were the cutest kids I had seen in a while! My husband and I would go visit them most of the time; they very rarely came to our apartment; but that was ok I enjoyed getting out of the house.

Here's something to make you laugh; I remember one day that we were all sitting outside, Robin, Randy & Allen all smoked; I did not, but I was out there visiting while they did. We were all talking, the kids were playing and then all of a sudden we here this "IMA MOKIN NOW!!!" We all turned from where we heard those words, and theres Ms. Kaitlyn; she had a cigarette butt inbetween her two fingers, put it to her mouth, sucked in and was acting like she was blowing smoke; it was all I could do to keep from bursting out laughing! I hope I don't forget this day...it was SO FUNNY...I turned my head...Robin HAD to get a grip because Randy was laughing; so SHE was going to have to discipline her! She said in a stern voice " Kaitlyn Lavonne, you better get your but in that house right now and throw down that cigarette, I will be in there with you in a minute!" IF I remember correctly Katie was about 4 years old at the time. There is nothing really that sticks out after this. We ended up living in that complex for 7 years! They gave us papers stating they wanted to take possesion of the unit and that we needed to move...we weren't evicted....we had just stayed as long as they let residents stay....CRAZY!!!! So we moved to a house off 249 and the northwest belt. It was a big house, there was an elementary in the front of the subdivision so it was perfect to be there with the kids! We lived in that house for 7 years! I met my best friend Beckie while we lived there. She and her first husband lived across the street, they had a daughter that was 6 months older than Mandi (6 years old at this time); there were numerous kids that lived around us; so we figured we had made a good choice. Both of the kids went to that elementary school. They both graduated 5th grade from that school; Jonthan was in middle school during this time as well; the bus would come and get him and drop him off. Mandi and Rachel (Beckies daughter) were in girl scouts for a few years together; so we have some fun memories to look back on! It was a lot of fun and very educational.

Time comes and we have to move out of the house; there was a major miscommunication between the landlord and my husband so we got evicted.

We moved into an apartment complex off Jones Rd and 290. I do not remember how long we lived there; I just remember that this was the time that I found out what damage had been done to my kids by staying with their father. One evening he and I were arguing; he went to hit me and our son got between he and I....his back was towards med and he was looking down at his father (he's almost 6ft by this time, 18 years old) and tells him "if you hurt my mom one more time, you are going to the hospital"!!! His father backed off and left me alone; at that moment is when I got the slap in my face; WHAT am I doing to my kids??? How can I stay in this relationship like this?? I had tried to leave him numerous times during the relationship; he would always convince me to stay; he would commit suicide; he couldn't live without me, blah, blah, blah. I bought it every single time; he even brought out a rifle one night; my kids saw it and saw how he was acting; he was sitting on the porch of the apartment holding the rifle in his hand and threatening to kill himself. I felt so trapped everytime I tried to escape, so to speak; he would always tell me that no one would want my fat ass but him; he always put me and the kids down; he was a very negative person.

**sidenote*** his current wife has told our daughter that he is no longer like the man that we lived with over 15 years ago. I am glad to hear that she got the best of him; IF in fact she did; I doubt it; hes just older and is probably slicker than she realizes. She states there is no way that the man she knows today is the same man that she has heard about; she believes that I have filled my kids heads full of shit. I have not; I do not play head games; I know that the truth is best in the long run no matter how hard it is to tell the truth. The truth will come out eventually so hopefully they will realize that I do NOT do that! God and I KNOW the truth; THAT is good enough for me!!!!

NOW comes the time that I FINALLY get a way out! At this time I am working at Hot Shot in customer service. I have been there for 4 years now.

He was working somewhere (I don't remember what kind of company it was). He had to be to work before me so he would leave before me (by this time we had 2 cars). I was sitting in the living room putting on my makeup, getting ready for work. In about 30 minutes Allen came back in from work all upset. He tells me that he got fired for being 3 minutes late because of an 18 wheeler that blocked his way and he couldn't get to work on time. For the FIRST time I saw through his lies! I acted like I believed him; led him on acting like I was feeling sorry for him, telling him it would be alright, blah blah blah, more lies just like what he has been doing to me for years now (22 to be exact).

I went into work; I looked up the phone number for his office and asked to speak to his boss. His boss preceded to tell me that he had actually been fired the day before (Monday). His boss said that he had gotten written up for not working mandatory overtime; he refused to sign the write up so they fired him on the spot; they even told him he would be fired if he didn't sign! So I worked all day, PISSED OFF!!!! I get home and confront him; of course he starts pouring out the lies. He's lying to you, hes making trouble for me, he doesn't like me; as always it was someone elses fault, not his! WHATEVER, I WAS DONE!!! I had enough....I told him it was over and we are splitting up at the end of the month; Labor Day Weekend 2005 is when we split up.

He moved to Cameron TX to live with his mother - she moved back there again and bought the house she had back when my husband was a child. I moved in with my best friend Beckie and her husband Mark. I think the kids and I lived there for about 6 months. We moved into an apartment not too far from Beckie. We lived there for a year, then I found a 2 story house on Golden Sunshine; we moved there and lived there for a year if I remember correctly. There were some things that happened while we were in that house.

One of the things that happened is that his mother moved in with us for a short period of time; she brought in her stuff and started decorating MY house the way SHE wanted; we had words; she moved back to Cameron TX.

At this time my only son was in the city jail in Houston; not for anything serous! I wanted to go visit but by he time my friend and I would have made it there visiting hours would be over; so she asked if I wanted to go to this ice house called Buffalo Freds on N Shepherd; I told her sure; she said there was a live ban playing and she heard they were good. We were about 5 miles or so from there; she called her friend, Mike and asked if he had heard about the band and if he wanted to meet us there; he said sure that he and a couple buddies were grabbing a bite to eat and then they would head that way. I was excited; I get to meet new people.

At this time I would drink beer every once in a while; I drank either Lone Star or Michelob Ultra; this nite I was drinking Lone Star beer. My friend and I were not there very long when Mike and his friends, Donny and Andy showed up. I was attracted to Donny immediately. We all got together and got a place to sit outside and listen to the music, drink and visit. Donny worked over the road (OTR); he was in for his 5 days....going back out on Monday (after Mothers day); this was the Friday before Mothers Day so we had two days before he had to leave; he told me that he had plans the rest of the weekend but would like my number so that we could talk while he was OTR; at this time he worked for Pam Transportation; he had a 1 year contract with them where he was OTR for 5 weeks and then home for 5 days. We talked for that next 30 plus days, 3 times a day! I was very smittin with him at the time; I felt like I had known him for a very long time; I was very comfortable with him. He was very kind, gentle, caring and thoughtful. I was so happy; I had not felt like that in a very long time.

Thats it for this part....I will continue with the next chapter soon...thank you for reading!! Take care and be blessed!!! Be kind to one another please; treat people the way you would want to be treated; whether they are nice to you or not; who knows what kind of day they have had; MAYBE YOU can make their day just a LITTLE brighter! It MAY even save a life!

Something to think about........bye!!!!

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Virginia Green

I am honest, loyal, caring, loving and my heart is bigger than me! My passions are my family and horses; I love ALL animals but horses are my passion! I am hoping my stories can help people realize they are not alone.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.