Families logo

I was just thinking

Oh how stressful it is being a parent

By Rachel CorbinPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

Have you ever had one of those days, when you think I'm a terrible mom? Well today was that day. MY three year old was giving me a lot of trouble because I'm in the process of trying to potty train and it's been very difficult and I got so mad that I yelled at her. Of course she didn't understand why I was upset but I felt so bad that I broke down in tears and was thinking How could i get mad at my child who doesn't understand the concept and she of course noticed and sat on my lap and was trying to console me. I know I'm not the only parent in the world who has gotten mad at their child but i really should be more patient with her and understanding because she's not like other kids, of course foolish me reads these stupid parenting blogs and books about how you child should be a what stage they should be in at their age range. But the reality is that she's not like everyone else and that she's her own unique person, I did just recently figure this out on my own and it took me a little bit to realize it. So I'm telling you that the best way to parent is the way you feel is best because no book or blog can tell you what's to be expected, it's a learning game and in my case it's a little bit more difficult because my husband has autism or is on the spectrum so to speak, it's gone on his whole life but his parents my in-laws refused to notice and get him tested. So as a result it's very difficult to handle at times and I recently have gotten concerned about my daughter maybe having it, but the doctors have said she shows no signs which is a good thing. But however she does have speech problems and maybe other issues that need addressed, Now the books and other crap out there doesn't tell you that or how to handle it. So in my case I have to completely change my whole parenting style, needless to say yes I felt like a horrible person for getting mad at my child with issues and I know I'm not the only one. If you feel that makes you a bad parent it doesn't because we are still human and make mistakes, I just hope for her and my other daughter that I just had 5 month ago turn out to be better versions of my self. So hang in there it'll get better especially with a lot of prayer because lord knows we all need it. Because if i could help any other mom's struggling with this same issue just remember your not alone, because I do feel alone most of the time and it's a terrible feeling. I know that as mom's we need to bring each other up and be supportive not teardown or question. As mothers we can show love and patience in stead of violence and yelling, maybe even encourage dad's to do it to.

But at the end of it all you are the best mom to your kids than anyone else ill ever be. only you can decide what's best.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Rachel Corbin

Hi I' Rachel and I'm a wife, mom of two girls and a follower of Jesus. I'm very vocal about my opinion and would love to encourage others and give advice to those who may need it or ask for it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.