Families logo

I’ve Never had an Egg McMuffin

October 15, 2015

By AnessaPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1

Dear Lil Sis,

I just got done mopping my floor. I don’t scrub – guess that’s what I always said. And now I’m sitting down cutting quilt blocks. I had the material all marked. I wore out a marker already. My leg – the other one – is leaking fluid. I scratched it about a week ago and it bled. Stopped, and now it’s leaking fluid out of the scratch. I think I should sit with my leg up and maybe it will stop. Just like Mom’s leg. I hope it heals up. I suppose I’ll have to tell the doctor. I’m so tired of going to doctors. I should have my teeth checked too. Mom had dentures. She had so much trouble with them rubbing on her gums. Always sore. That must have hurt. Pa had to take her to the dentist often. I think he resented that. Pa had a partial denture.

I’m done with sorting clothes, just have two more bags to go to Goodwill. They are parkas, Maggie washed them up. One parka said to dry clean, so I took it to the cleaners. Cost $10, but it’s such a nice one, it’s the one I wore when I fed cattle. Now someone else will have a warm coat. What I did not give to Goodwill I’m cutting up for quilts.

Lukes took me to a play at the theater last night. I couldn’t understand it too well, but I figured it out. I didn’t care for it that much. Was more talking than action.

Yesterday I had to bake some date bars. I’d had the dates for a long time. I thought I would eat them – but I didn’t, so baked bars. I sent them home with Lukes last night. Also made beef stroganoff – ate some for dinner and froze the rest. I’m not going to make any more eats because my freezer is full now. Just think – I can just sit and watch TV all day (I think that’s what most of the people in here do). They get meals at noon – you have to pay for them. I think it’s $3.50.

I got a folder from McDonalds that said you can get egg McMuffins all day now – with sausage. I think I’ll do that. I’ve never had an egg McMuffin.

It’s Sunday today. I decided to stay home and put my leg up. It seems to be getting better – I sat with it up Saturday too. I only had to change the bandage twice yesterday. I use t-shirt material for bandages – it's heavier. So I’m going to watch Pastor Salem on TV and the Lutheran hour. I can cut quilt blocks while sitting so at least I get something done.

Monday

Looks like my leg isn’t leaking this morning. I sat for two days with my leg up. So it helped. This morning I dusted the room. Sure don’t have the dust I had on the farm. I’m going to Bible Study this afternoon. I got some lard from the farm in a large container, so I’m going to put it in 1 cup containers. That way I don’t have to get it out of the big container, because it’s so hard, and it’s already measured out.

Got home from Bible Study. On the way home I stopped at County Fair grocery and bought a big sack of Granny Smith apples for $1.67. Having a special. So will be peeling apples for pie. I’m having Bible Study here next Monday.

Terrible wind today.

Tuesday

Peeled apples for two pies this morning. Now I have a doctor appointment at 10:30.

After dinner – had fish and etc., for dinner. Maggie came in while I was eating. She brought me a book to read. Now I don’t know if I should cut blocks or read.

Doctor rewrapped my leg again and said it looks good. So maybe when I go back he’ll say ok and I don’t have to go back. I don’t know if I told you, Amelia is taking violin lessons?

Wednesday

Baked a pineapple upside down cake for the birthday party here. I bought pineapple tidbits instead of crushed pineapple. So I’ll bet it won’t be juicy on the bottom. I don’t know why I didn’t buy crushed.

I want to finish cutting blocks this morning. For now anyway. I still have two bags of material left, but maybe I do that this winter.

The book that Maggie brought me – I got into the first chapter and found out I had read it sometime before.

Back from birthday party. My cake was delicious – I didn’t even get a piece back. Someone came in and played an electric piano while we ate. I got kind of bored, so I left. (End of Wednesday).

I think this letter is long enough so I will mail it. You won’t get it until next week.

Love you Lil’ Sis from Big Sis. Love Admiral too and your cat.

siblings
1

About the Creator

Anessa

A witness to God's grace.

Lover of words, nature, and healing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.