Families logo

I Threw the Recipe Away

November 12, 2015

By AnessaPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1

Dear Lil Sis & Admiral,

Went to get my hair done at 10:00 and went to Shopko to pick up my pills. I wanted to get some arthritis Aleve but couldn’t find any. Then forgot to ask the clerk about it. That shot I got for arthritis helped some but it still hurts when I reach behind me – like tying my apron or putting on my bra. It hurts more in the night than in the daytime. I’m also putting my feet (legs) on a pillow at night. I think it helps my legs from swelling. Sometimes they are real good, I try not to eat much out of cans because of salt content. In the afternoon I made a pan of brownies. Jesse, Jane’s husband, came and brought me two suspense novels – so of course I couldn’t wait to read.

Saturday

Weather here is so warm. Showered a little. I should go outside more. I made mashed potatoes, half a brat, black beans, squash, gravy, and raw cauliflower for dinner. Jacob came – I could have had him for dinner if I had known he was coming. He and I talked for a couple hours and he left. After that I didn’t feel like starting anything so I fooled the rest of Saturday away – read.

Sunday

Went to Luke’s church. Still am unhappy with his church. I’m thinking of going out to Hillside – I can catch a ride. I did go to Luke’s Bible study after church – that was great. It’s the second time I went. So maybe I’ll have to accept our lady preacher even if she isn’t good on sermons. Your letter mentioned Sunday clothes. I decide sometime on Saturday what I’m going to wear, then I get up at 6:45, wash up, and put on the clothes I’m wearing to church, and I put an apron over – make breakfast – always consists of half a grapefruit, toast & jelly, coffee and cereal “great grains cereal”. I have to be ready to go at 8:30. I’m usually wearing a scarf instead of jewelry. I think the scarves really dress up your top.

Monday

Got up feeling lousy. Took some Pepto Bismil, made a casserole for dinner and more days. Hamburger, stuffing, and cream of chicken soup. I always like it but didn’t taste that good today. Guess I wasn’t hungry. Went to Bible study at one of the friend's house. Was good. We had more discussion. Went to buy groceries after – was getting dark when I left the grocery store. That really makes me nervous, but got home ok.

So now I’m going to read the paper.

Tuesday

Felt like baking cookies – chocolate chip. I don’t like them very much, but I think the kids like them. So baked – was a big batch – 4 cups flour. They are very sweet – I don’t know why I even bake them. I threw the recipe away.

Called the dentist. Wanted a checkup before I had any problems. At 2:00 went to dentist. Said everything was ok, but had some very small cavities in my front teeth starting. So made another appointment next Wednesday. This check up cost $130 and next week will cost $500. I could have bought myself a car already with all I spent at the dentist. But thankful – could be worse.

After dentist appointment, came home and took a nap – then was supper time and I had a piece of toast, banana, and milk. Read papers and went to bed. Sounds like bad weather coming.

Wednesday

Put some chicken on to cook for soup. Looks like we will have high winds for two days. No moisture. I am going to be out of milk. Hate to go out to get it. Should have bought it yesterday, but didn’t realize I was so low. I’m really starting to forget. I can’t think of the words I want to use sometimes. It comes to me later, especially when I want to describe something in Bible Study. Embarrassing.

I’m thinking of our childhood. Seems to me Mom had a hired girl? Her last name was Burmeister. We were real small. But I remember her being in the kitchen. I don’t know how long she was there. Years ago people had hired girls I remember. There were Burmeisters in our church, but they are dead now. One of our cousins, Florence, Leo’s daughter is in an assistant living place here in Mitchell. She came to one of our Bible studies. I was surprised she is in Mitchell.

Later – made out my grocery list. I have to stop eating. I’m spending too much money on groceries. I should stop baking – that is a big part of it. Now I’m going to cut up some clothing for quilts. Got one bag cut up, I’ll do the others in the morning. Went to sleep at 5:30, didn’t know I did it until I woke up at about 6:30.

Thursday

Cleaned my oven this morning, now I’m resting – that's such a hard job for me – reaching in, guess I could ask someone to do it, but they are busy doing their own thing. I remember going after school to Grandpa’s place and scrubbing the kitchen floor. They had a kitchen stove that used coal, and the floor was sometimes so dirty, you couldn’t find the pattern of the linoleum. I used Bon Ami on it. That really cleaned it, but took the shine off. I guess I should have rinsed it afterward. My arthritis is bad this morning.

Love you and Admiral.

Big Sis.

siblings
1

About the Creator

Anessa

A witness to God's grace.

Lover of words, nature, and healing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Brielleabout a year ago

    I loved reading this, thanks for sharing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.