Families logo

I Remember the Days

Home

By Dianah BrockPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
6

I remember the days

When I was young

In a little green house

On the walls, family pictures were hung.

Every morning I would wake

With you by my side,

We’d sit on the porch

Watch the sun rise.

Then grandma would stumble

Out of her bed.

Embrace you good morning

Smile, then pat me on the head.

I remember the smell

Of fresh bacon and eggs

We’d sit down to breakfast

You in your chair, with me on one leg.

Then you would leave for work,

And there you would stay all day.

Grandma would be sewing

Trying to teach me applique.

I would wait outside

for your truck to pull in.

When your feet hit the ground,

I knew the fun would begin.

Later that evening

We’d watch baseball on TV.

I cherish those memories,

Of just Grandma, grandpa, and me.

Now, so many things have changed

Since you went away.

I’m not four years old

I no longer go outside to play.

Instead, I stand

In my Kitchen each day

Washing dishes, and gaze through my window

Watching my children play.

Then a bittersweet smile

Will emerge on my face,

And I realize why she always said

The window shows Amazing Grace.

Now, I will remember the days

When they were young.

In a little green house,

On the walls, family pictures were hung.

Every morning when I wake,

And with my children by my side.

We’ll sit on the porch

And watch the sun rise.

For home is where we are

And home is where we will be.

The place that housed

Just Grandma, Grandpa, and me.

© 2021 Ava Sprayberry Abernathy

All rights reserved.

grandparents
6

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.