Families logo

I don’t want to be rich and famous

When children believe money and fame change everything

By Laureta DudumiPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

- I don’t want to be rich and famous mummy my son exclaimed while I was trying to open the door to enter the building and escape the freezing cold.

- Why you don’t want to be rich my love? I asked mesmerized from my six-year-old exclamation.

-I learned that reach people, become selfish and do not care for the world.

-And why you don’t want to be famous? I asked again now even more stunned by his answer.

- Because people change when they become famous and they become selfish. I don’t want to be like that my little one decided there and then. What do you think of famous and rich people mummy? Do they change?

- I don’t think. I answered. I believe that people chose to be what they want and neither being rich or famous changes them. Even poor people can do that.

- How do they do that?

- Well selfishness does not come from your wealth or your fame. Is something a person has in their blood and they might hide it for a while maybe until they achieve something they want but they will always be selfish because they don’t care about who, why or how they hurt someone, they only care what they want to achieve. There are plenty of rich and famous people who are not selfish at all because they care about people and their surroundings. Moreover, they are trying to influence the world for better by utilising their fame and richness and therefore they try to help people and the planet to be better. Being rich or famous doesn’t change you if you don’t want to change. It actually can give you some hand to help people or the world to be better. Now that doesn’t mean you have to try and be rich or famous or not try at all. It just means you have to be who you are and maybe by being that you will help the world.

-Maybe! He exclaimed again but I am not changing, therefore, I don’t want to be rich.

-There is time to think about that my love. I carried trying to change the topic while finally, I managed to open the door of our apartment and direct my son inside. You are rich for having a family who loves and cares for you. That’s all that matters for now. Who knows maybe when you grow up you will find the best richness of all times the trick is how to keep what you have by using your heart as well as your mind as the risk to lose everything is there all the time. Just think about it. I closed the topic determined not to continue anymore the awkward conversation about rich and famous. Deep inside though feeling proud and maybe a little upset. Proud of my little one being able to start analysing things but upset that he is growing to fast and I want him to enjoy his childhood as much as possible.

“ This was his talk a while back and i miss his smart talk in this uncertain times while my partner and I took the difficult decision to leave our little one with grandparents and carry out our jobs as key workers. I could have chosen to stay home. We could have chosen the easy way of giving him family time but we made the hard choice to give our son the example that love can be shared and more people need our services right now. When all this ends our son can be proud of us choosing that like him other familjes could carry on life because of our choices”

children
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.