Families logo

I Can Write Because I Have No Schedule.

November 29, 2015

By AnessaPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like

Dear Lil Sis & Admiral 1st Class Will,

Wondering how Will is? Slept late this morning. 7:45 got up, arthritis really hurting. Took pills. Fixed my bra this morning with part of one I got from Goodwill. I’m going to go back there and get some drinking glasses. I only have three here. Have broken about 4 since I moved here. Do you put drops in your eyes? Doctor says I should. I do.

Our church did the shoe box thing too.

How is your ankle? It’s good the insurance is paying the doctor bills. Did you get something for your car? Moneywise?

Are you still wearing that support stocking? I wrapped my legs this morning. They seemed to be swelling again. I don’t know if sleeping with my legs on a pillow helps or not. They are thin when I get up but don’t stay thin.

Well I didn’t know what to have for dinner but finally took out some beef stroganoff, so will boil some noodles now. It’s 1:15, I wasn’t hungry till now. Am reading your old letters. I think you are too busy to write me – why don’t we just talk on the phone. I can write because I have no schedule. And it’s just me here. When I was eating dinner, do you remember that company would just show up? How did Ma ever get anything together for a meal? Surely there wasn’t meat ready to eat? At our house (Leroy & me) when we got unexpected company we always had homemade sausage that you could thaw quick. Also I guess I fried potatoes. I had that big electric skillet. Maybe I had cake or something in the freezer. If it was Sunday maybe Mom had a pie baked.

I’m listening to the news. Sounds bad. Makes me worry about our kids and grandchildren.

Went out to look at my flowers. Looked good, didn’t freeze yet.

Sunday

Got up 6:45 and washed, dressed, and ate breakfast, washed dishes, made bed, and then it was 8:15 already – drove to be picked up about 10 blocks away and into car pool. I just got done eating and here was Jacob again. He stayed a while and then left with the cookies. So I hadn’t sat down five minutes and was asleep, so just woke up. I was going to watch a movie - one of these Sundays, but slept it away. I still have Saturday papers to read and I am signing off.

Monday

Felt like cooking. Made sauerkraut soup. Cooked some sauerkraut. We had that at home, remember? Also made some cubed raw potatoes, sprinkled olive oil on and oregano. When done microwaving sprinkle lemon juice on top. I have lots of different ways to make potatoes. But had no dessert.

I have to write some notes, but have to go to Shopko to buy some. Well a very dark and dreary day out – might rain. I should cut up material – feel like reading too. Such decisions. I guess I better cut up.

Tuesday

Had a terrible night. Arthritis hurts so much. I didn’t know which way to lay. Finally got up and took two Advil about 5 – then went to sleep and slept till 8:30. Well when I got up the light was on in the kitchen – then I saw one dozen eggs on the table. Luke was here and I was still in bed! Well he called me later and said he needed my car for a meeting. I guess Jacob needed the car they came to town in. Well they stopped about noon. I worked on quilt top rest of day, wanted to take a nap after dinner, couldn’t sleep! So now it’s 5:30. I got mail and your letter in here. I sure look forward to those letters. But I still think you are too busy to write. How is Will doing? He is in my prayers every night.

Wednesday

Went to the dentist at 9:30. Said he filled three teeth in front. The cavities were starting, he said. Well I guess I would have waited until there was a hole. He said he hoped we didn’t see each other ever again. So went to Shopko and got my pills, also a new waste basket for my garbage in the kitchen. A bargain at $3.95, was marked down from $15.00. My old one was rusted out at the bottom. That really made my day! Also some note pads, I couldn’t write to Mary on recycled paper! Then went to my doctor and the nurse took my blood. When got home made French toast as had some eggs now. So swept floor – can't understand why the floor always needs sweeping. Had a couple inches rain the last two days. I don’t think I’m going to sew today. Going to read and take a nap.

Thursday

Did laundry this morning. Then I was going to make bars, found out my old peanut butter smelled rancid. I brought that from home – so two years old. So I couldn’t make those bars. Then I wrote a note (on my new notepaper) to my friend, I was her mentor. I’ll have to tell you about her on our phone call. Ate dinner, went to Bible study, but was none, Pastor had an emergency. So stood around, happened to mention that I couldn’t bake – out of peanut butter, so decided to take a nap. Then here comes one of the ladies – she said here – take this peanut butter. Well I was completely out of the mood for baking – took my nap. At 5 o’clock after I woke up I made my peanut butter bars. 7 o’clock - ate some soup, read the paper, and I’m going to read some in my book. 9:30 going to bed. How is Will? So signing off. Love you guys.

Big Sis

siblings
Like

About the Creator

Anessa

A witness to God's grace.

Lover of words, nature, and healing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.