Families logo

I Am a Mom

Wait, what?

By Alysha Clark-WaltersPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Emmalynn: the reason momma lives

I never wanted a family. Well, let me take that back: I never wanted to be a parent. Not because I don’t love children and I don’t love the idea of creating life or sharing life, but because I believe myself to be unfit.

When I met David, I knew he had two girls. I knew that they were in elementary school and I knew that they needed a lot of love. What I didn’t know was how hard it was going to be to be a mom to a child I share no blood or name with. Even though I had my doubts, David and I agreed to have a child together. So here I am with a 10-year-old, an 8-year-old, and a 4-month old.

Days like today remind me of why I was against being a parent in the first place: my temper plus my anxiety equal a blubbering, angry idiot with more issues than Time magazine. Don't get me wrong, I love being a mom. I love watching the youngest smile as she sees me enter a room, I love helping the oldest with her math, I adore watching the middle child try on my clothes, but I hate me as a mom.

I work 10 hours a day, come home, make dinner, clean the house, and help with homework before I even get to hold my flesh and blood. I used to love staying busy and active, but with her, all I want to do is lay in bed and watch her watch My Little Pony. I hate me as a mom because all the “mom” things such as cleaning and cooking for the others often come before the “mom” things that matter to and the “mom” things I enjoy.

I never wanted a family but I guess it wanted me.

So I sit and I listen to the laughter, I put band-aids on knees, and I fix dinners every night. I lay awake and hope and pray that one day she will remember that I was there even though I spend more time at work. I am the bad guy when I take away the phone because one hit the other, or when I won’t tie your shoe after you were just disrespectful to me.

I hate me as a mom because I don’t get to be the good guy often. I don’t get to see my flesh and blood and spend time with her like a good mother should. I hate me as a mom because even when I try, it isn’t good enough. Thankfully she is at the point in her life where she won’t remember how horrible I am or how I worked more than I spent time with her (someone has to pay the bills) so I have a little time. However, her sisters, well her sisters see me angry, they feel my wrath, and they hate me because even though I do the “mom” things with or for them, I am not a mom to them.

Maybe one day I can be that to them. Maybe one day they will look back and think that even with all my faults I still loved them with all I had.

I pray that even with all of my issues that she will love me as her mother.

I pray that her older sisters will one day see me as a mother figure.

Since I am a mom by law, hopefully I am a mom by sight.

I am a mom. I care, I worry, I fret, I scream, I cry, and I love.

extended family
Like

About the Creator

Alysha Clark-Walters

I am a mother, a step mother, a partner, and a teacher. I write to vent, explore, and examine.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.