Families logo

How We Celebrated My Sister’s Birthday during the Lockdown

It wouldn’t be wrong to say that COVID-19 pandemic has restricted us to our homes. None of us saw it coming. And suddenly all the happy celebrations and fun gatherings reduced to online conversations and wishes.

By Bhawana SinghPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

It wouldn’t be wrong to say that COVID-19 pandemic has restricted us to our homes. None of us saw it coming. And suddenly all the happy celebrations and fun gatherings reduced to online conversations and wishes. But we shouldn’t let the tough times get the best of us is something that I told myself and decided to make the most of the free time in hands.

My sister’s birthday happened to fall during the lockdown. She was going to turn 18 this year and was quite excited to celebrate the day with her friends and loved ones. Yes, she has been planning her grand birthday party for months. But the lockdown broke her spirit as she couldn’t celebrate her birthday as planned. So, I took it upon myself and decided to make her 18th birthday truly memorable. I asked all her friends to send personalised birthday video wishes. Compiled all the videos into a film and played it on a big TV on the morning of her birthday. Her joy was beyond measure. The smile on her face made her eyes sparkle.

Well, this isn’t it. I had surprises planned for the entire day. My mother and I made my sister’s favourite pancakes for breakfast and served along with a bunch of flowers that we plucked from our garden. The birthday wishes started pouring in via voice and video calls. You can say it was the highlight of the day as talking to family members and relatives cheer up my sister and made her feel special.

As they say, a birthday celebration is incomplete without a cake-cutting ceremony. A cake is the most important element that was missing from my sister’s birthday surprise plan. So, I decided to bake her favourite chocolate truffle cake at home. With the help of my mother and online cake recipe videos, I successfully baked my sister’s favourite cake for her birthday. Later, I decided to order a gift online and make the birthday surprise even more memorable for her.

While I was doing my research online, I came across Ferns N Petals, a fastest growing gifting portable across the globe. Their unique collection of digital gifts grabbed my attention instantly. Digital gifts are the safest bet during such challenging times. They offers a wide range of digital gifts for birthdays, including guitarist on-call, personalised video wishes, digital caricatures, poetry on-call, e-greeting cards, personalised app, etc. The digital gifts are 100% contactless and delivered via email or video calls. I loved the idea of digital gifts and placed the order for a personalised app, as my sister is quite tech-savvy, and she is into fun and interesting apps.

Seeing her favourite chocolate truffle cake made my sister jump with joy. She was surprised to know that I baked her a birthday cake from scratch. And as a gesture of gratitude, she gave me a big, warm hug. Seeing my sister happy and excited gave me immense satisfaction. As we couldn’t go out for celebrating, so we all planned a little birthday party at home. I also ordered online some essentials from Walmart for preparing snacks for the party. The delivery person from Walmart ensured the delivery of safe products to our doorstep.

Everyone at home dressed up in their party clothes. We all danced to the party music and loved relishing the home baked yummy cake. This is how we celebrated my sister’s birthday during the lockdown and made it truly special and memorable.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Bhawana Singh

A Dreamer, Traveler, Table Tennis enthusiast, & a Dancer, Bhawna Singh. She voraciously follows fashion and lifestyle bloggers. She simply loves to pen down her thoughts & share it with the world through her write-ups.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.