Families logo

How to Hike With a Baby

Tips and tricks to plan a day out hiking local trails with your young children and babies

By Christina BlanchettePublished 3 years ago 8 min read
6

The weather is changing, summer is on its way!

Last year’s pandemic came with multiple challenges, but one of my absolute favourite effects was that my family, like many others, discovered the joy of hiking our local trails. We aren’t hardcore hikers, but we racked up over 120 kilometres of walking last summer and fall! And the best part?

I did it with a five-year-old, a three-year-old and a baby.

My three youngest and me!

My last baby was born in June of 2020 during our pandemic quarantine. There were practically no activities that I could take my kids to. We’d done our best to make our backyard fun, but it wasn’t enough. Every time I took my littles out for a walk in the neighbourhood they would run all over the place with their crazy kid energy. I was stressed by visions of cars backing out on top of them or running in the streets after a squirrel (yes, that happened). All that to say, our walks were not a lot of fun.

A member of a local Facebook group I’m in shared that they’d visited a small waterfall nearby and had a blast. The kids were allowed to climb down and play in the water, there was free parking and shaded trails. I became a little obsessed with visiting this seemingly magical place, and after my doctor gave me the all-clear we went for a quick day trip. I packed a picnic lunch, the diaper bag and my baby wrap and we were off!

Our first hike of 2020. I didn't tie the stretchy wrap tight enough, the baby should be sitting up high enough that I could kiss her head. She was just over six weeks old here!

That first trip we didn’t make it too far, only 1.8 km. I needed to get used to baby-wearing again, I’d tied it a little bit loosely. But, I got my family out of the house and we had fun! The kids loved clambering all over the rocks and the little waterfall was beautiful. It made me realize that I didn’t need to feel trapped at home.

As the summer progressed we visited many other trails. Some were at nature conservation areas, some provincial parks, and one of our favourites was actually behind our county’s administration building. Most of the trails were within a thirty-minute drive from our home.

Our county has a massive plot of protected forest land that you are allowed to visit. The kids love to run and fight about who gets to be the leader.

After that first excursion, I realized it made a lot more sense to make a morning out of these activities. The kids are always up early anyway, and if they’ve been outside expending energy, they will nap in the afternoon. On our adventure days, we would get up, get dressed, have a quick breakfast and then head out typically before 8:00. My husband worked during the week so yes, most of these outings were just me and three small kids.

Here’s how I did it!

Made by the author using Canva

Babywearing

Wear all the babies! I didn’t think I would be a fan of babywearing. I watched a few of my friends try it and it seemed like it was beyond me. Everything changed in 2017 when my son was born. That little cuddle bug would not nap on his own, all he wanted was to be snuggled. I bought a stretchy wrap and stuffed him in it, a perfect solution. He slept happily and I was able to get a few things done around the house. That’s how we spent most of his early days! He’s still pretty cuddly.

For my summer excursions, I bought a Beluga Baby wrap. I love supporting Canadian and it is the lightest weight stretchy wrap I’ve come across. Even though we were out in the mornings, I didn’t want my littlest to overheat. And it's so soft, it's comfortable against her skin and mine.

This is a better carry!

Babywearing made all the difference. I had my hands completely free, I could carry a backpack with no problem and I could look down and see my baby at all times. She would look around at first but then would always fall asleep. And if I needed to stop and feed her, it was easy to pop her right out.

Stopping to feed the baby while we visited the Tree Museum. This might look like a ruin but it's actually an art installation. It's an incredible place to visit if you get the chance.

If you're interested in babywearing, the options may seem overwhelming. There are stretchy or woven wraps, structured carriers, ring-slings and everything in between. There are great babywearing communities out there! Search for a local Facebook group, they can help answer questions you might have. There are multiple benefits to babywearing, including the freedom of getting out of the house.

Plan Ahead

The AllTrails app is a brilliant tool for anyone who enjoys hiking or cycling. It allows you to see what trails are nearby and you can break them down into categories. They’re also rated, so it’s easy to avoid ones that might be bogged down with mud or completely overrun by mosquitos.

A screenshot of a trail we completed last year. In the app, you can click on the map for additional details and the option to record your trek.

Are you interested in a loop? Or maybe an out-and-back is more your style? Looking for something flat or do you like big elevation changes? The AllTrails app will help you find the right trails for you.

Always check the weather before you go. A bit of rain is not the end of the world, but you do not want to be caught in a wooded area during a thunderstorm. The weather forecast will also help you decide what clothes to wear.

On the longer trips, I printed off some nature scavenger hunts for the kids. My teens were there, too. They might say that they weren't interested in the hunts, but they gladly helped the little kids.

What to Wear

If you’re going to hike trails on any kind of regular basis, invest in some quality hiking or trail shoes. Your feet will thank you! Trails can be rough and uneven, around my home there is a lot of old stone, so you want footwear that won’t slip and provides a bit of stability.

Back at the waterfall again, two months after our first walk. I've got hiking shoes, leggings, Smartwool socks and layers. The weather is cooler, especially in the mornings, so I added a sweater for the baby. The ears, while not essential, really make the outfit.

I am a huge fan of leggings, especially with pockets. A full-length pant will protect you from the sun and the foliage, although nothing will stop mosquitos these days. Wear whatever you’re most comfortable in. I will also advocate for pockets, keep your phone close by for your GPS and to take photos!

When it comes to your top half, think layers, layers, layers. A cool morning can quickly turn overwhelmingly hot in the humidity. Loose layers will allow you to adjust as needed.

Cool weather meant it was time to break out the toques!

For the baby - remember that there aren’t any sunscreens rated for infants, so keep them covered. When the summer was hottest, my baby wore a onesie and socks, as her feet were the only part not covered by the baby wrap. Light cotton sleepers are also a great option. For the sunniest days, don’t forget your hats.

That's a lot of hat for a little face!

Safety First

Before you head out on any trail, even if you are planning a thirty-minute walk, always make sure that someone else knows where you are. I send screenshots of the AllTrails route to my husband so that he’s aware of the exact trailhead that we’re using. Don’t forget to check back in at the end of your hike!

Bring a first-aid kit in your bag. Falls happen, especially with little kids running at top speed. It’s easy to carry a small kit with you in case of injury. I carry a small, soft kit designed for one to four people.

I could still see my son, but if he starts to head around a curve I would call him back.

Establish rules with your children. We have a sight-line rule. It’s not important how far away they are, it matters that we can still see each other. If I call them to come back, they have to come. This may be different depending on the part of the world you live in. These trails are heavily trafficked and do not have any large predators nearby. However, if you live in mountain lion or bear country, make sure you follow posted warnings and stay in safe areas.

This was an incredible walk through these interesting formations! The markings aren't always easy to see, watch for painted marks on trees and rocks.

Stay on the marked trail. AllTrails has a GPS function that shows you where you’ve been superimposed on the local trail maps. If you do find yourself off the path, use the app to get back on track.

Another installation at the Tree Museum. I wasn't confident about climbing all the way up to the top, so I stayed within my comfort level and took photos of my adventurous family.

Know your limits. Start with shorter trails with minimal elevation changes and work towards longer, more challenging hikes. Most importantly, listen to your body. Take breaks when you need them and don’t be afraid to turn back early if you are not feeling it. Everyone has off days, don't put unnecessary pressure on yourself.

Leave nature be. There are so many incredible trails available for us to enjoy, it's imperative that they're respected. Always take away your garbage, and don't pick the flowers or harass the wildlife. As the saying goes - leave only footprints, take only photos!

One of my mom-isms is, “Look with your eyes, not with your hands!” I say it a lot.

What to Bring

Water! If you don't bring anything else, make sure that you're carrying water with you. Bring enough for you and your kids. I typically had one litre for me and another for the two littles, with more in the car for the end of the trip. Make sure that you drink frequently during your hike.

Baby essentials. You don’t need to bring a full diaper bag, but it’s a good idea to bring a few diapers, a small pack of wipes and a plastic bag to take any used diapers back with you. I also packed a lightweight blanket and a spare sleeper, just in case.

She was fascinated by the leaves and light patterns. The walks always started with an alert and engaged baby. Eventually, she would fall asleep and I would tuck her head into the wrap for added security.

Sunscreen and bug spray. I typically slathered everyone with sunscreen in the parking lot right before we start the hike. The bug spray came with me and stayed easily accessible. Mosquitos can easily ruin a walk.

Snacks. Always bring snacks! Depending on the duration of your walk, you might need a small carb boost partway through. We also enjoyed having a snack at the very end. I packed things like fruit, granola bars and muffins.

Snacks on the go! Picking wild raspberries is an exception to the 'leave nature be’ rule.

Get Out and Enjoy!

Our family summer walks turned out to be a highlight of 2020. We enjoyed the outdoors, got a bit of exercise and had adventures! Most days we were home before lunch, glad that we’d already accomplished something fun and exciting. I highly recommend taking advantage of some of your local trails. Hiking with three kids under the age of five is achievable!

Hello! If you've enjoyed this article, please consider leaving a ❤️ or sharing it is always appreciated! This is not a sponsored post, these are just items that I've used and enjoyed. I hope that this article inspires you to get outside and explore! -Christina

Try this article next:

how to
6

About the Creator

Christina Blanchette

Hello! My day job is spent working as an engineer, I am a mom of 6, avid reader and part-time creator.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.