Families logo

How I Rise

Father/Son Morning

By William L. Truax IIIPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
MayaQ

How I Rise

Nearly every morning is the same, dull, dreadful and a pain to rise from the behind the covers. Though lately I have been getting myself up eagerly awaiting my day. Turning on the lights at 0500 and I feel like coffee will not due, just because I drink it every day without delay. I walk the baren hallway and dodge the A/C grate in the center. My wooden floors cool against my black comfy socks, I wake my son for school. He slept in the living room on the new extremely comfortable furniture we just recently received from Farmers Furniture.

I get him up and make my coffee, he too has a cup. He is just as in love with coffee as I am, and he is only twelve. Together we sit in the bathing light from the living room lights where the ceiling fan is still running.

We take a sip at the same time. It is kinds funny as I think about it, how much he and I do together and have in common.

The music (as he places his cup down) draws him into playing our go to, “Get Up and Moving.” The first track that he played was out of the original order, but he was telling our Echo what to play just as I was thinking it.

“Alexa, play Cry Little Sister by Marilyn Manson.”

I looked at him and smiled, he knew that I loved that cover, and it was one of Manson’s best covers that he had ever done, in my opinion.

“Playing Cry Little Sister by Marilyn Manson…” the Echo responds.

We both close our eyes and sing along as best we could without rousing my wife and daughter. They slept peacefully with the music as my son turned it up to a six, but I figured if we got going (which I knew we would have), then we would be in huge trouble waking the two of them.

Next as he was getting dressed, we went to a normal and began playing Godzilla by Blue Oyster Cult. I heard him from his room, “Oh No! There goes Tokyo! GO! GO! Godzilla!”

We sat there on the couch once more and got ourselves another cup, he had placed his coffee in a travel mug, while I was drinking from a regular coffee mug, red and orange on the outside while painted blue and green on the inside.

We finished his morning with We Will Rock You and the follow up We Are the Champions by Queen.

As the music died, I checked the time and advised him that it was 0700 and time for the bus. He headed out to the bus with a feeling of joy and compassion. A feeling that he and I shared that morning and wish to repeat again, but a later future avenue may open for us to jam to some music and enjoy coffee together when the next day appears.

“I love you Dad!” he shouted as he got onto the bus and blew me a kiss. I shouted back and smiled. He is my light and joy, and I hate it when he leaves, because it feels like I am going to be dealing with the inevitable of my wife and daughter waking to the sounds of Queen to keep my day running as I work on the computer. That is until my wife must go to work, then all noise shuts down.

As I turned to walk back into the Echo to play some Led Zeppelin and sit back while typing and enjoy the story/song writers from years pass. Currently I am listing to Dazed and Confused and enjoying th comfort that this Olden Music brings to me and my family, like it never died.

children
3

About the Creator

William L. Truax III

Disabled Veteran, Father of 2.

I am a teller of tales and dreams, visions, haunting melodies, subtidal invocations of the mind and song.

Many of the Tales here interact with each other in some way and all within the same Universe.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.