Families logo

How I came to write this book

Le Premier Chapitre

By BeePublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
How I came to write this book
Photo by Nick Iliasov on Unsplash

‘Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say.’

That was what Brontin and Dad would always say. They always dreamed of finding one of the legendary Screamless Space Continuums. Dad would then joke about naming it after me and my sister. ‘Silva Cinmin’.

Yep. And Silva would then give him this disapproving look. Even if she secretly wanted it to happen. Typical Silva. This is why she never gets what she wants.

Hopefully, by now you’ve figured out the following;

1. My name is Cinmin. No, not Cinnamon. Brontin can only call me that, so don’t try to.

2. I have two siblings, My older brother Brontin and my slightly older sister, Silva. So yeah. I’m the youngest…

3. You’re reading a book about Space, and travelling in space, and screaming and all that jazz. So, if you ain’t interested in that stuff, put my perfectly good book down.

4. My dad and brother are big time dreamers about space and all the… other… things they… talk… about… Which I definitely know…

Okay. Now for the stuff you will need to know. Other important information about me I guess.

1. I have a pet Slinter called Boozy. And a Slinter is like a lizard that spits fire out of its… ass. That’s the simplest way to put it…

2. My best friend is Favien. The tall redhead guy in this story, that has too many freckles.

3. And I’m horrifically terrified of Space. I know, right? Pathetic excuse of a daughter of a High-End Space explorer, discoverer and scientist?

4. I live in Bronzo, on planet Parava with Dad, Brontin and Silva. Mum died a couple years ago.

5. And I’m part of the Hoollen Army, protecters of the Spacious Royal Family, Sevré.

So yeah. That’s probably the most important info you need to now continue on with this book. I think. Anyways, with all that in mind, I should probably start the long ass explanation of how I have come to write this book for you, even though I never liked writing. Or reading.

But here goes…

The beginning of this book.

And the Beginning of the research on Screamless Space Continuums.

So, it started three and a half years ago, when Brontin was at the Sevré Spacious Palace, studying to become a Continuum Scientist, alongside Dad. Silva was perfecting her Grand Performance for the Sevré Entertainment Festival in a few days. Mumma had earned another shift at the Parava Capital Hospital. And I… was spending almost every day in Paravan Fields, with Boozy, watching the world fly past me. Plus, the occasional Spaceship or Guzler, which would often ruin the view. Fav would often join me, if he had a free day from working at ‘Guzzling Guzlers Pet Store’ – they never have enough staff on the clean the pens.

So today, the 37th of Gorshic, after finding a new field in south Parava, I’m now sitting in tall grass, staring out into the colourful galaxy, with Boozy sleeping on my stomach. Crunching footsteps sounded after an hour or so.

“You know,” Fav said as he came up beside me. “You do make it hard to find which field you end up at. A heads up would be great.”

“That ruins the point of it though. It’s just a treasure hunt.” I reply.

“And you’re that priceless?” Sarcasm is our common tongue.

“Oi!” I grabbed one of his ankles and the knee from the same leg, and dragged him to the ground. “I am, in fact, that priceless. I mean, you keep finding me. I’m obviously priceless to you!” And smugness. The new kinds of language that comes from knowing someone for more than twenty years – which I forgot to tell you before, sorry. Yeah, we’ve been friends for about twenty years. I’m turning 23 later this year.

Fav fell on his ass within seconds. Which was funny for me.

“Dude, really?” He never likes it when he gets beaten by me, even if it’s a daily for him.

“Yep, it’s your invitation to sit down.” A death glare lingers on me – I can feel his sarcastic anger. “Your welcome.” At this, he shrugs off a thanks.

“You are ridiculous.” I placed a hand on my chest and made a face that read a joking thanks. Man, I love sarcasm.

As Fav got comfortable, Boozy woke up. “Hey, Booze! How you feeling boy?!” I slid a hand on his chapping skin. He let a squeal of a roar leave his snout. Then a whimper. I could still feel Fav’s hot stare. I gave him a questioning look.

“Still haven’t been able to get to ‘Sizzling Slinters’?”

“Fav. It’s in another galaxy. I’d been gone for lightyears. And there aren’t enough Slinters in this galaxy to make one here.” The pain and anger that I had stilled beforehand, began to boil again.

“We could convince—” I sat up instantly, the anger soon going to overflow. I wouldn’t be able to control it for long, especially as my hands began to burn like raging fires.

“Who? The Sevré? I don’t think that’s something they want to hear from a decent Hoollen warrior.” Fav shook his head. “Plus, they’re already trying to make a ‘Gonzel’s Gourmet’, in eastern Morta—”

“Another?!” I lay back down, knowing staying still would help Boozy sleep.

“Yeah. In the old ‘Dondi’ building. Did you not hear about the blazing?”

“No! How long has it been blazed?!” The terror in his eyes began to burn a hole through my darkening soul.

“Almost six months.” I whispered.

I knew it was a knife at his side to hear this; his brother used to work there. But, when a blazing has commenced, every person who worked there, goes along with it. Everything is gone – no records, no people, no items. Nothing. “I’m sorry. How come you didn't know?” Talking softly will do better than sarcasm. I felt stupid; I shouldn’t have let the anger consume me.

“He… he still wrote. I have… letters.”

“Commander Bax. He always does this. He did that to Silva, when he blazed Jock’s business. He got away with it for about four years.” Fav’s eyes widened. “She burned all those letters he wrote barely a week later. And lost herself after learning she missed the funeral.”

“By?”

“Two years.” Silence fell upon us.

If I had known that Fav hadn’t been told I would’ve…

Not been able to give him the news that his brother died. And I said it so insensitively. Sometimes I wonder why Fav even likes be. I’m barely tolerable. And I’ve been told that by many people. Most of dad’s work mates. And Mumma’s patients she sometimes has to take home. And Brontin. Yet, he still loves me, even if it’s a have-to-do.

Boozy began to shiver. I sat up quickly, and brought him close to my chest. I wrapped the blanket I was lying on around his body. Panic swelled in my gut.

“Mumma called a vet two days ago. He might not pass this coming Solar Eclipse. They said something about the lack of lighting could damage his fire abilities, which will cool him to his core, triggering hypothermia. That means…”

“You have three days.” My eyes burned, and moving my head seemed like too much of an effort. Warm arms wrapped themselves around my body and brought me closer to Fav. “Seems like today isn’t gonna be an amazing day, huh?”

“Please… don’t jinx it.”

But it was too late to plea as Parava began to rumble furiously.

children
Like

About the Creator

Bee

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.