Families logo

How Can I Get My Family to Support Me?

I am discouraged Every day by my family due to lack of support from them

By The Life Of RuthPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

Hi! My name is Ruth. I am a single mother of one. I am currently pregnant with another baby girl on the way due by November 25th. Two years ago, I started a YouTube channel where I talk about becoming a mother, having a small child, and the problem I face as a new mother and a first time mother, as well as being a single mother.

When I started it, I was doing great and it was making me happy because being a new mother, has its own challenges. I struggled with postpartum depression (which I never got to talk about), family drama, and my own drama from my partner. Doing videos and posting them on YouTube, it was giving me more joy. For two years, I stayed home taking care of my baby, and the way my family wanted me to stay home.

Before my daughter turned two years old, I decided to take her to her father to spend more time with him before her second birthday. I stayed with him for a month, and those months, he didn’t even buy any gift for his daughter as she turned two. Things started getting bad for me and the father, he was always high, never bought us food to eat, and he was always with money all the time because he was working in construction. What bothered me the most, the way he was shouting at my child for nothing. After a month, I decided to move back to my parent’s house but there was still controlling of my life. After one day and one night of staying with them, I decided to run away with my daughter and never be found again.

I was in peek of giving up completely because everyone around me wanted to control my life. I ended up in shelter for abusive victims and decided to stay there hidden without no contact from anyone. After 24 hours, I was listed missing in the news with a toddler but I didn’t care because I knew I wasn’t missing, I just needed a break from everyone.

When I felt like it was good to talk to anyone, I visited my family to let them know that I was ok where I was with the baby and not to worry too much. That is when I discovered also that I was going to have another baby. Within a few months of staying at the shelter, I got my own house with Toronto connection. Now I live in my own house, I want to do my own things that can support my small family, things like working from home, but my own family is against it.

Starting my own YouTube channel, it makes me happy and I feel good sharing my life with others. Maybe there is someone I can relate with who might be going through the same thing I am going through. When I told my family about starting a YouTube channel, they discouraged me from starting it. All am getting is negative feedback from them, nothing positive. What should I do to convince them that what I am doing is good and what will help my family in the future as a single mother? Am I being self-centered about it?

feature
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.