Families logo

Honest, Brave, and Generous

Living life with the game face of a smile

By Jessica FreebornPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
1
Grandma and me

My grandma's birthday is March 11th. She died back in 2018. Her birthday is around the same time as my brother's, so we would often get together for joint celebrations. The last time I saw her was at one of those birthday lunches. I remember my aunt somehow managed to pay that time around. My grandma was less than thrilled about that, but we were still happy to be together.

I've written about my grandma in a few of my other pieces, like the one about her potato casserole and the one about how grief is something we all experience differently.

She was an incredible woman who impacted so many people. But what was she like? Well, she was...

Honest

Grandma was a straight shooter. She told it how it was. I didn't have to worry about her lying to me. She always stood up for what she believed in and balanced this with listening to what others had to say. She was a good communicator, in part because of her time as an English teacher. (I like to think that I carry on her English-loving legacy as I write and continue to have an opinion on the Oxford comma.)

She got involved in local politics. It was refreshing to know that there were people like her helping to make communities better. When she said she was going to do something, she followed through. If she said she would be somewhere at a particular time, she would be there five minutes early.

She stuck by her commitments, faithful in whatever she did. And she instilled the values of faithfulness and honesty in her kids and grandkids.

Brave

I watched my grandma stare into the face of death for two years. After her diagnosis of pancreatic cancer, she didn't stop doing what she loved. Somehow, she managed to laugh along that journey. Based on how she acted, I'm reminded that a smile is just as much a game face as a frown.

Because sometimes you fight by learning how to laugh despite unfair circumstances. She didn't let the fear of death keep her from living her life. She did what she liked doing and saw each moment as a gift. After she died, someone said that the cancer had won. No, it didn't win. Because she didn't let it stop her. My grandma won. She was brave through and through.

Generous

My grandma loved to bless other people. She wanted to help others in everything she did and make sure they had enough. She and my grandpa were always having people over. Their home was open, and people would often drop by just to say hi. Anyone and everyone could ask for help.

At any sort of cook-out or family gathering, there was always more than enough food. There's going to be ten people? Should probably make enough to feed thirty just in case. Do people want corn on the cob? We should probably get at least two dozen ears for a dozen people. Breakfast? We should probably make the bacon and sausage.

Christmas and birthdays were always full of gifts. Gifts were how Grandma showed love to people. She loved to make people smile and giving presents was a way to do that. One of my favorite gifts from her is a crocheted blanket. It's all black and gray yarn. She knew those were my favorite colors (weirdo that I am). I know it must have taken her hours to make, so it is all the more special to me now.

Celebrating this year

My grandma knew how to enjoy life. And I know her legacy lives on when I take time to enjoy life too. The Christmas after she died, my family took a trip to Disney World, doing something drastically different to help shake things up. When we went, I knew it was exactly what she would have wanted.

There's this wonderful restaurant halfway between her house and my family's house. We used to meet up there for lunch together. It was a fun time. We're going there on her birthday this week. And I know that as I drink my coffee, spend time with my family, and order a bit of dessert, I will be celebrating my grandma's life and honoring her memory.

Thanks for reading. If you liked what you read, consider subscribing, leaving a heart, pledging, or giving a tip. If you would like to receive regular updates on my work, please email me at [email protected] and ask to be added to my email list.

You can also follow me on Medium.

grandparents
1

About the Creator

Jessica Freeborn

Passionate writer that is enthusiastic about writing engaging, compelling content. Excels in breaking down complex concepts into simple terms and connecting with readers through sharing stories and personal experience.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.