Families logo

Hometown Vibes

FL Sunshine

By Shante’ HillPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

The Gulf Coast will forever be my home. My hometown vibes are full of fun, peace and relaxation. Whenever heading back home from a road trip, those green FL signs on the highway always make me smile. I’ve never been a fan of cold weather, so starting over and moving to FL made total sense. Although it’s not where I actually grew up as a child, it’s where I grew up as a young adult. There’s always something to check out or get into throughout the year. Call me corny but I love being able to tell people, “I live where you vacation.” Ha! Here are a few visuals of my hometown vibes along the Florida Gulf Coast.

Every year I look forward to the annual event reminders popping up on social media. When friends come to visit, it feels good to have an itinerary list of things to do. I don’t think I’ve ever truly felt bored here.

The beaches here are very beautiful with various access points. Some people say all beaches are the same. That is false. For the people in the back, that is false! The soft white sugar sand on our beaches feels so amazing! They’re also kept pretty clean but it’s a different story during peak tourist season. In the fall and spring I enjoy taking my boys to see the kite festival on the boardwalk. Every so often the wildlife will show there presence. It never gets old. I’m in my thirties and still get excited like a kid when I see a dolphin or a shark. I learned very quickly not to sit near people with open food and snacks because the seagulls can be savages sometimes. They will bully you for your food haha! If you’re lucky, you may run into to a celebrity or two! When you want to cool off without the sand, the splash pads and pools are perfect!

Frozen yogurt and lots of toppings equals a brain freeze. It was totally worth it!

Food that soothes the soul

Let’s eat! The food choices are endless. If you want it we got it here. Caribbean food has become one of my favorite things to eat. I love the variety of the small business restaurants to choose from. Of course there’s there are the typical chains like McDonalds and Taco Bell but they small business spots are so much better and fulfilling. Some of the other restaurant varieties include Thai, Filipino, Mexican, Irish and German. I’ve traveled to Italy in the past. I can honestly say I know of one definite authentic Italian restaurant in the area that is amazing!! Healthy food and supplement stores are available as well such as Clean Eatz and the Golden Almond. Obviously we have an abundance of seafood options, but it’s pretty cool that it’s always fresh. It’s pretty safe to say that my food palette has completely grown up down here.

This bridge connects me to one of my happy places. The Harborwalk Village is a popular destination for travelers.

Something you will not see FL lol

This is the last photo of what makes FL feel like home. It’s nice to visit family and friends but even nicer to get back home to warm weather. I genuinely do not like cold weather. Don’t get me wrong, looking at photos of snow is cool. They’re quite beautiful to be honest. It’s also a beautiful thing not to deal with snow and ice!! While away on vacation, the kiddos were so excited to be able to actually play in some snow. On the return trip to FL, they couldn’t wait to get back home just so they could go to the beach. Imagine that! 😊

travel
Like

About the Creator

Shante’ Hill

I’m a writer from FL. This year I decided to write more frequentry with the intent to start publishing some of my work. Please give my stories a like and/or tip. I’m open to feedback as well. Thanks!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.