Families logo

Home

You made me a place I always go back to

By ArungPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Home
Photo by Ekaterina Shakharova on Unsplash

I came across a photo of you in my old phone. It was a blurry shot of you laughing while eating a sandwich during our trip to Australia from years prior. We were having lunch then, and I was seated across you, while the others were seated in another table. I remember pointing the camera in your direction and asking you to smile but you gave me a hearty laugh instead, without even checking whether you were in frame, or not, I pressed on the shutter button. Hence, the blurry situation. Aside from that, there really isn’t any deeper meaning behind that photo, but like a princess who found her prince charming, and lived happily ever after, it’s one of the photos of yours I cherish the most.

When I was at work, one of my colleagues who I closely work with, noticed my lock screen wallpaper during our break. It was that photo of you. She asked me the specifics of that photo, and I told her the tale. The conversation jumped from that photo to the details of our vacation to the question on whether I prefer this country I’ve immigrated to, or that country. At that time, I couldn’t give her an exact answer. Both countries may share some similarities, but they’re also vastly different from one another that a comparison between the two may seem moot. However, if someone posed the same question to me currently, the answer would be flat out neither. Both countries are beautiful in their own rights, and I am grateful for being privileged enough to have the chance to visit one, and currently reside in the other, but you weren’t there, and you aren’t here, and that’s the factor I look at the most.

Anywhere with you is home, and wherever you are is wherever I want to go.

You were there from my start, and I’d like for you to be with me till the end of my end, but it’s not just a possibility. Each milestone I’ve accomplished has you beside, and behind me; watching, and guiding me. You were the first person to congratulate me on every achievements I got. You were there in all of my highs, and you were the first to reach out during my lows. Although there were times when we didn’t see each other eye to eye, you never let the cold of the argument overtake the warmth you have for me (us). You’ve given me enough love, and affection that I think I have enough to last me a lifetime, even without a romantic partner. You helped in developing and nurturing the innate talents, and skills that I have which makes up what I am today, and I am extremely grateful for it.

I am grateful that I have you in my life.

Without you, I’d probably lost; forever wandering through a foggy maze in the middle of nowhere with no end in sight. You are the lighthouse in the middle of the dark sea I navigate. You’ve given me a family, a place to be, but most importantly, you’ve given me a home. It’s something that I wouldn’t trade for anything, and a legacy I would like to pass down to others when, and if given the chance, not now, but in the near future maybe.

I hope you’ll still be there when that time comes.

The probability that there may be a day where I wouldn’t be able to bask in the warmth of your presence keeps me up at night. It’s making me impatient. I want the instant gratification of the present, and immediately reciprocate whatever you have given me, than the possible prosperity of the hard work of, but I know it’s not enough. Although knowing you, you’d probably assure me that whatever it is that I currently ‘am, and have is enough.

You deserve the world. You deserve all the goods in it, and I wouldn’t stop at anything just to give you it even if it means not seeing you for long periods of time. I just hope you hold on longer so we could both reap the benefits of this hard work. I wouldn’t fault you though, if you decide to give up one day. You’ve lived a life of happiness, and satisfaction, and that is enough for me. I’d just want to see you once more before it comes to that.

In the near future, when the stars would start to align once more, there would be you, waiting at the airport for my arrival, and when that happens, I’d abandon all my things, run to you, and envelope you into a tight hug, and whisper in your ears, “I’m home.”

grandparents

About the Creator

Arung

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    ArungWritten by Arung

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.