Families logo

High School Years

Lifes Major Changes

By Virginia GreenPublished 4 years ago 9 min read
Like

Hi there,

Your friend Gin is here again! Ha, I am a poet and didn't no it!! LOL Seriously I will get on with the story. I am doing my best to try to keep in order; I am sure I may bounce a bit and I apologize ahead of time; when I jump around I will do my best to explain why I did and get back to original topic asap. Thank you for reading my stories I hope and pray that it touches some people and help them in some way or another!!!! BE BLESSED!!!!!

So Scoby Moving and Storage moved us from the house on Greer to Pecan Valley. The move happened after Eddie was born, July 1st, 1977 but before my birthday July 29th. There were three men to move our things; David (I think) 18 years old and was handsome; Roy (I think) 20, I was not attracted to and Mario 22 that I also was not attracted to. I joined Brigade (pep squad) for my freshman year so we had practice. Momma told me that when I was gone to practice and they came to move us they saw my picture on the piano and their mouths dropped...LOL

Well I found out the youngest had a girlfriend so I was not pursing that so I just dropped it. Next thing I know Mario had asked my mom and Robert if he could take me out - I was close to my 16th birthday - Robert told mama that he trusted me, so she decided she did too and let me go out with him. It was my first boyfriend with a car! Everything was fine for the first couple dates; then he started getting touchy feely, I told him that I was not that kind of girl and that momma raised me to be virgin when I got married; he stopped. Here comes my 16th birthday; Mario takes me out...I really don't remember where - he gave me a promise ring - thought that was going to get him some action....NOT!!!!

We are now a little over two weeks from my birthday. We are living in the townhome on Pecan Valley. This particular morning (August 16th, 1977) I get up, grab Eddie and go downstairs (bedrooms and full bath upstairs, half bath downstairs) with living room and kitchen. Daddy had been sleeping in the hide a bed in the couch; he was too weak to go upstairs to the bedroom.

So Eddie and I are coming downstairs; I hear mom and my step brother Donnie just a fussing at Robert (daddy). They were griping that he wasn't taking his medicine like he should and that he doesn't take good care of himself and on and on. I felt bad for daddy cause I knew he was sick; but I had NO CLUE how sick he REALLY was! Donnie left the house shaking his head, on his way to work on the other side of town; momma told me to take Eddie upstairs and get ready to go to practice - she was making something to eat. I would normally do what my parents told me, I was considered a good girl. So I turned to go upstairs and I heard Robert (daddy) say "Virginia", I looked over at him, holding Eddie on my hip and said "yes daddy" he said "remember honey I will ALWAYS love you, no matter what", I smiled and told him "I love you too daddy" and then turned around and went upstairs with Eddie. I finished getting ready for practice, got Eddie out of his crib to head back downstairs. When I got to the end of the stairs and turned I saw daddy laying on his right side; I walked over to him and was looking at him, after a few moments I realized he was not breathing; I think I went into shock. It seemed I stood there forever; momma fussed at me "Virginia, don't stare at your daddy like that" I couldn't move..she said "Virginia, do you hear me? I told her yes I do momma, daddy isn't breathing". She fussed and said "don't say that, that isn't funny" I told her " I am not joking, daddy really isn't breathing".

I wasn't upstairs 15 minutes after he told me that he loved me, I was the ONLY person he spoke to that morning! Eddie would ALWAYS sit on daddys tummy/chest and pull on his mustache and play with him while momma would cook; this particular morning Eddie didn't want anything to do with daddy, we thought it was wierd; but now it makes sense. I was heartbroken! I couldn't believe he was gone. I went to practice and explained what had happened. I was excused of course. We just left daddy in the house, dead. We didn't know what to do. When we got back momma told me to take Eddie upstairs and keep him entertained while she took care of this situtaion. I took him to my room, it seemed we were up there for hours. Finally I look outside my window and I see the vehicle with daddy's corpse in it. I shut myself away from everyone except my immediate family. I didn't want my friends or to go anywhere or anything.

Nexgt thing I know, Mario shows up at the door, here to take me out and get me away; my mother called him; she wanted me to get out, she was worried about me. After a lot of resistance and arguing I finally gave in and went out with him. Funny, I remember this date.....we went to Whataburger and ate...I picked at my food....we went to see Saturday Night Fever....I was there in body, not in mind...I do not remember the movie at all and have yet to see it. We, of course, ended up at his apartment. I sat on the couch, he got me something to drink; one thing led to another and next thing I know I am in bed having intercourse with NO protection. I knew what I was doing, but I guess I just didn't care at the time; he took me home and that was the last time we went out.

Next think I know, he sends me TWO DOZEN roses with a card "an ugly frog doesn't deserve a princess like you, I am sorry, Mario"....this is the ONLY time in my life I had EVER been sent flowers!!! I couldn't believe it, I thought Oh well good riddance, he wasn't worth it anyway - he was upset because I would not consent to sex with him again after the first time.

Well, time goes on. I am going to practice, living day to day trying to learn to live without daddy. I was so hurt and lost without him! Time went on and I started feeling sick to my stomach and I missed my cycle; I talked to my step brother about it (Donnie).He was dating a nurse at the time (he was 33 years old at the time); he and I were very close! He got me a pregnancy test...it was positive!!! OH MY, what am I going to do now!!! I am starting to get popular in school, I am in brigade and love it and want to become a cheer leader.

I asked Donnie to please make arrangements for an abortion, I was 16 and didn't need or want a baby! One evening my mom and I go to Lubys for dinner; I would ALWAYS get the fried fish, macaroni & cheese and fried okra, sweet tea and pie; not this night, I was sick! I just got a salad and tea, my mom could not believe her eyes. We sat at the table and was eating; she looked at me and said "Virginia, are you pregnant"? I looked at her and denied it; after several times of denying it I finally came clean. She asked me how long I had known; I explained to her about Donnie and what we had done and arranged; she was LIVID.

She called Donnie up and cussed him out one side and down the other; she told him that I was HER daughter and that SHE would take care of me and that HE was NOT responsible for me; he TRIED to tell her he was just trying to help and keep her stress level down; she wasn't hearing it at the time.

The night before the abortion was scheduled, I was in my room thinking about how much has happened in such little time and how much my life had changed and would continue to change. Was I going to regret the abortion? Would I be able to go through with it? What IS the right thing to do in this situation?? I was SO CONFUSED and wanted my daddy!!!! My heart was breaking all over again! I hear a knock at my door, I said "come in" and the door opened slowly and I could not believe my eyes at who it was...Mario!!!!

I looked at him and said "what do you want, you broke up with me, remember!!???" He said "your mom called me and told me that you are pregnant with my baby, is it true"? I said "yes, but you broke up with me and I have nothing to say to you". He pursued along with my mother for us to go take a walk and talk about things and see what solutions we could come up with. So I decided to do it, they were not going to leave me alone until I agreed to it; so I told them both to leave and I would be down in a minute after I get dressed. When I got downstairs I was shocked! My mother, two ministers AND all there to talk to me about the sin of abortion etc..

Well he and I had our talk; he talked me into not having the abortion. He told me that he would marry me and everything would be great; he made all these promises. He didn't live up to any promises. Everytime I would call him he would be busy with his family; he would never come see me; I did not see him my ENTIRE pregnancy (well there was ONE time I saw him when I was 6 months preggers in the lawyers office; my mother had papers drawn up for him to sign over all parental rights or she would press statutory rape charges on him; needless to say, he signed!). One day I called him (I was about 8 months pregnant) a woman answered the phone; when he came to the phone I asked him who she was and he told me her name is Karen and they are going to get married. I was so hurt and devastated, I TRUSTED him!!! How could he do this to me??? I am carrying HIS child!!! I couldn't believe my ears!

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Virginia Green

I am honest, loyal, caring, loving and my heart is bigger than me! My passions are my family and horses; I love ALL animals but horses are my passion! I am hoping my stories can help people realize they are not alone.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.