Families logo

Have You Ever Seen a Pig Fly?

For Grandma, With Love

By Courtney PetterssonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Handmade for my Grandma for her 78th birthday.

On a warm summer evening, on the back porch of a small yellow house, a little girl sat with her grandmother watching fireflies dance in the grass around their farm. Looking up at her grandmother the little girl asked,

“Grandma, have you ever seen a pig fly?”

The woman smiled and replied,

“I’ve seen flowers bloom and raindrops fall,

Shadows dance upon the wall,

Horses galloping with the breeze,

And birds that soar above the trees.

I’ve seen seasons change and children grow,

Ducklings swim and fireflies glow.

Have I seen a pig fly, though?

Well, no.

But the world is big with lots to see,

And you could see much more than me.”

Years later, now a young woman, the granddaughter returned to her grandmother’s farm for a visit. After dinner they sat on the back porch to watch the fireflies and talk.

“So,” asked the grandmother, “did you ever see a pig fly?”

The young woman smiled and said,

“I saw flowers bloom and raindrops fall,

Shadows dance upon the wall,

Planes that seem to fly with ease,

And buildings taller than the trees.

I saw sandy shores and neon glow,

Homes turned white by falling snow.

But did I see a pig fly? No.

The world is big with lots to see,

But wherever I go there will never be

A better sight, worth millions or free,

Than my grandma sitting next to me.”

Wherever I go,

Whatever I do,

My home will always be with you.

~

Thank you for reading my story! If you enjoyed it, I hope you’ll consider leaving me a tip!

I wrote this for my grandma for her 78th birthday/60th wedding anniversary. She has always loved pigs, so I made a little book and wrote this story to remind her of just how much I love her.

My grandma is truly the best; accepting, kind, funny, and honestly beautiful. We’ve always had a special connection and I can tell her things I can’t even tell my mom. We’ve shared so many laughs and she has gotten me through some impossibly hard times. I know I can trust her with my secrets and she will love me no matter what mistakes I’ve made (even if I keep making them).

My grandparents recently moved across the country to be with more family and I couldn’t be happier about it. My mom was basically already handling all of their doctor appointments and helping them with financial planning, so it is much easier on her now that they’re here. It’s also a bit harder.

She has basically become a full-time caretaker on top of being a full time teacher’s assistant. That is why I am on sites like this. I’m trying to find ways to make money online so I can quit my current job (which will be difficult since I work at an animal shelter and love my work) and help her take care of them. If I can work from my laptop then I can work from my home or theirs without being so exposed to COVID-19.

One of my dreams is to be an author. My specialty is children’s books, but I’d love to actually finish a novel someday (writer’s block – what are you gonna do?). I also write a few darker stories, but I consider those to be therapy – get the dark out to let the happy in... that’s how that works, right?

Thank you for taking the time to visit my page and read my stories. I really do appreciate it and it means a lot to know that someone might be enjoying my work.

Be safe out there!

grandparents
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.