Families logo

Have A Little Faith

A short story of godmother and goddaughter

By Feven GPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
3

This is a story about a little girl named Faith and her godmother Feven. A little girl called Faith was born on the first of October, 2017. She was a joy to us all, including her mother, Macda. Macda is my cousin, but she feels more like a sister I never had. Little Faith is her child. Macda gave me the gift of becoming Faith's godmother before Faith was born. At the time, I was thrilled. I've always loved children and understand the joy they bring to others. I love being a godmother, even though I'm not yet a mother. Being a godmother is about being a person who will do their best to help that child as much as they can. So, I love that faith brings me joy, laughter and kindness. When I think of Faith, one of the first memories I have is her first birthday party. She had such a wonderful first birthday, and I helped Macda plan it. The party was Peppa the Big-themed, a lot of people attended. The day was great. A child's first birthday is extraordinary. First years are milestones, so I was delighted to participate in them. I got Faith an alphabetical mat so she could learn her ABCs for her birthday. I am pretty sure she still uses it. 

It's been four years since she was born, and I spent those four years getting to know Faith. I attended her baptism, first birthday, and many other occasions. We've done many things together, like go to the park, the mall, and watching Peppa Pig. It was fun doing these things with Faith. What a ball of energy she is. What a sweetheart.

One of my favourite memories is her 4th birthday this year. I decided to give Faith an excellent gift on October 1, 2021. She will have turned four years old, so that'll be a big deal. I didn't want to give her a toy or crayon or clothes. While those things are lovely, I wanted to give her something she will never forget. I did some research on what I could provide to Faith. It was something she could always use as she grew up. The idea came to me when I came across a website that creates books. How cool is that? Does it. I went to the website, and it says you can create your book with your characters and customize what you say. That's what I did; I completed my book for little faith. I designed the cover and back cover of the whole book. I created the character of Faith and me and made our own little story genuinely unique. It was the perfect idea for me as a godmother to create the book so that Faith could never forget me. I love seeing her grow up every year and seeing what other amazing things she will get to do.

We have a million stories, and each one is unique. Let's take a look at a few things from the book. Faith loves to dance, make funny faces, be fair, give hugs, and is always there for her friends. Faith started school recently in September, and Macda has been there for her every step, guiding her and helping her with school activities which I think is lovely. She is turning out to be a very bright and fun kid. 

In other words, being a godmother is truly a great honour. Although I don't live near her or her mother, I am always thinking of them and checking on them, and when I get the chance, I visit them, and we have a good time. We even discussed doing a sleepover at my house, just Macda Faith and me. The plan hasn't happened yet, but it will happen in 2022.

As a final note, I think Faith is a great kid who will grow up to be an amazing woman, just like her mother, Macda. It is such a blessing to be a part of their lives and experience being a Godmother.

extended family
3

About the Creator

Feven G

Hi, my name is Feven, and I am an Eritrean Canadian living in Toronto, Ontario. I am a creative individual who enjoys writing and creating content. If you want to know more about my experiences, I would be happy to share them with you. ☺️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.