Families logo

Future or today: What will you choose!

Because of my father's heart attack incident, I realised that life is short so spend your precious time with your loved ones.

By Nawal ImranPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Since I have done my A levels and now the university has changed my life. Half of the time I am in university and half of the time studying at home. I was not able to give time to my family as I have been busy making my career and future. I could not spend time with them and also stopped showing at the dinner table as well. I become isolated and felt depressed. I thought no one cares for me; I had to deal with my problems alone. I did not get the chance to talk about my problems due to my busy routine. My bond with my family was getting weaker day by day.

I was shopping, one day when my phone rang, I left crying. My sister called to inform me about the heart attack of my father. I ran out of the mall. I got into the car immediately and drove towards the hospital. The drive was a blur while I was praying for my father's health. When I reached the hospital, I saw a strange woman who was heartbroken, weak, and dull faced. She was no other than my mother. I crumbled in her arms while tears rolled down my face. My sister came and informed me that doctors needed our consent for the open-heart surgery. Surgery gave me goosebumps. For a few moments, my senses got froze; my whole body suddenly got numb. I was unable to breathe. My sister hugged me and gave me water. I felt oxygen rushing in my lungs; I could breathe and realized that it is time to be strong. My mother was not in her senses; my sister and I consulted the doctor for the surgery. The doctor said that there was a fifty percent chance of survival. I wished that he was with me. I wanted to spend more time with him. I feared inside, but I had to be strong. My mother needed me; hours felt like years. I was starring emergency light over the operating room until the operation had finished. Nearly three hours later, the doctor came outside and told me that the next 12 hours were critical.

After 12 hours of observation, the doctor allowed us to see the father. I went first to see him. I glanced at him; he was awake. I approach him with tears rolling down my eyes. I grabbed his hand while he smiled at me. He tried to speak, still groggy from anaesthesia, and asked me why I was crying. I acted bravely and answered, “Nothing, do not speak, we are going home soon”. He started recovering with the grace of Allah. Doctors discharged him after a week. It took about two months to recover him properly.

I was in the hospital when I realised that life had given me another chance to utilize my time correctly. I should have given time to my parents because they do everything for me; even they sacrifice their happiness for me. I asked myself a question about what I am giving them in return? The answer is ignorance. Career is necessary but never forget that they invested in you.

Initially, I was the person who was only busy creating the future, now I have changed to become a better version of myself. After this tragic incident, I started utilizing my time efficiently with my family. I made food for them; I planned different weekend picnics to cover the time that I missed with my family. I feel happy, less stressed, and hopeful since I have prioritized my family. It has boosted my self-esteem because my family always appreciates me and tells me how proud they are of me. I do not feel alone. It also affected my marks; I got good grades because I felt more hassle-free, encouraged, and confident.

If I had lost my father that day, what could I have done, except regret that I should have taken care of him and spend more time? Parents and siblings love you unconditionally. They do not want anything in return. Parents want to see you happy, so you must keep them happy. They do not need your money; they need your time.

I realized after the heart attack of my father that it was my fault because I could not take care of him properly. I was so busy thinking about myself that I ignored others. Sometimes my father used to come to my room and asked why I was ignoring the family. I always had an excuse for the assignments and quizzes. I felt sorry when I saw him unhappy, but I did not know what to do.

Now I know what I should do. Life is short; it will pass anyway. It depends on you how you lead the way. Now I try to spend more time with the family to show that I care for them; family is important. I prioritize my family over my work. Also, research proves that good relationships with family members increases your life span, improves psychological well-being, and helps to handle stress.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Nawal Imran

Just a normal person trying to express her feeling through writing. I like to write in my free time. Mainly the topic , I like is fashion, traveling and business post.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.