Families logo

Fun time in my family

Fun making it more funnier

By Samrah nadeemPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
4
Gatherings are love

Another fun memory with my family was during a road trip we took one summer. We had been driving for hours through the countryside, and everyone was startingto feel a little restless. That's when my dad had the idea to play a game of "I Spy."

At first, we were a little hesitant. We had played the game before, and it usually ended in arguments and frustration. But mydad was determined to make it fun, so he suggested we play in teams - him and my youngest brother, and my mom, middle brother, and I.

We started off small, with simple objects like "I spy something blue" or "I spy something round." But as we got better at the game, we started to get more creative. My dad would spy something only he could see, like a bird flying in the distance. My youngest brother would spy something silly, like a tree shaped like a "Y." And my mom, always the trickster, would spy something that wasn't there, like a unicorn in the clouds.

We took turns spying things, and each time it was someone else's turn, we would all shout out guesses. It was chaotic but hilarious, and we were laughing so hard that we could barely speak.

As we drove through the winding roads of the countryside, we spotted a herd of cows grazing in a nearby field. My mom spied something within the herd, and we all squinted to see what it was. It turned out to be a cow with a pink sparkly backpack strapped to its back! We were all in stitches, and my mom declared that she had won that round.

We played "I Spy" for hours, and the game never got old. It brought us together and created a sense of camaraderie that we hadn't felt in a while. We were all just a bunch of goofballs enjoying each other's company.

As the sun started to set, my dad suggested we pull over and have a picnic by the lake. We found a quiet spot, spread out a blanket, and pulled out the sandwiches and snacks we had packed. We watched as the lake sparkled in the late afternoon light, and the sound of crickets filled the air.

We talked about old memories and made new ones. My middle brother surprised us all by telling us that he had started writing his own songs. He grabbed his guitar from the car and played one for us - a funny tune about a banana that had gone bad. We all sang along and laughed until our stomachs hurt.

As the night started to fall, we gathered our things and got back in the car. We were all tired but filled with a sense of joy and contentment. We played "I Spy" a few more times, but it wasn't as lively as before. We were all relaxed and happy, content to just be together in the moment.

We got home late that night, and as we each headed to our own rooms, we all shared a knowing smile. It had been a day full of laughter, adventure, and fun. We had connected as a family in a way that we hadn't done in quite a while.

Years have passed since that day, and we all lead our own busy lives. But whenever we get together, we reminisce about that trip and how much fun we had. We play "I Spy" again, and it always brings us back to that sunny day when nothing mattered but being together and enjoying the moment.
That day taught me that sometimes the best memories are the simplest ones. It doesn't take much to have a good time - just a few silly games, a beautiful view, and the people you love most.

travelfact or fictionart
4

About the Creator

Samrah nadeem

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Godwin Msalichuma11 months ago

    Good story

  • Sheila L. Chingwa11 months ago

    This brought memories. I figured out how to return the read! I use to pull such tricks on my kids. Lol

  • Hassaankhan11 months ago

    Superb

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.