Families logo

Full of Surprises

Nadine's Kitchen: Gourmet baby food line

By Grace LovePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Milo, My best friend

I knew I wanted children from the very beginning of time. I love them. Little did I know that wasn't in the stars for me. Every doctor spoke of the very impossible chance I would ever conceive because of PCOS or it's long name Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome, being a big woman etc. I was definitely defeated and started to feel like less of a woman. Fast forward to 3 years ago I meet my partner, we go steady. 2 years fly by and I start my dream food endeavors with the help of some of the community I am doing great and my food is a success. Little did I know that in the winter, I would find out I was pregnant. What? I thought it wasn't possible, and I realized all things are possible. It was the hardest year of my life being pregnant with my son, I had to slow everything way down, so that I could take care of myself and my unborn child. I just was losing income and had to come up with something to keep us afloat. It hit me; I was going to give my small community exactly something it was lacking. A very local, very fresh, very new baby food line. I was in the right place at the right time. After getting all of the paperwork in order, and the labels, and the energy Covid-19 happened. It had put a very depressing hold on my dreams to feed the little ones in town. I know that cooking calls to a number of people but for me, it's been in my fiber just like my child has been for all of my life. I have heard it said that you live the life you deserve and well I have in some ways done just that. I have slept on subway trains and I have sung with a Grammy winning symphony. I have literally walked thousands of miles and I have driven in jaguars with heated airplane seats. I say that to provide you with the look inside my world. We all live in a world that gives us highs and lows some more than others. Before my son I was in a dark space- I hadn’t finished college at the level I should had. I was lonely and my queerness was locked down, and I was in a pit of despair. I had just lost my father to heart failure, and I was on the edge of a cliff ready to jump. Nothing was going right. I just couldn’t find home and purpose. As I settled into the notions that I would forever be alone and no one would need me like I needed them, my life’s path took all kinds of travel. I ended up in a small town, and I met a person I connected with both of us emotionally broken but enjoying each other. I then left this safety to venue to Europe where I got bamboozled into thinking I was special only to be treated like a wretch. When I wanted to come back, I went to the last place that felt like home, and boy was it full of surprises. I reconnected with the person I thought I’d lost and we created a space for one another and we learned to cultivate magic when we needed, and sometimes it gets really hard, but then our son was born and now not only are we both home, we are living in a space where my artistic freedoms are nourished and watered to grow. I find that Love, Music, and Food fuel the world I live in and I want to share it with as many people as possible. I want to encourage the open canvas’ to paint with no restrictions and live for the moments that are not kind, so that you have a reason to create beauty in the spaces you call home.

career
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.