Families logo

From Craft nobody to Crafting Champion

Turning nothing into a beautiful creation

By Olu AkinwumiPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
Now beautified... Colorful Felt flower crown

I was a nobody when it came to crafts or making things by hand. I didn't know how to make anything; and so, I concentrated on how to climb the corporate ladder of success as an HR practitioner and never bothered about handmade items until about nine (9) years ago after I gave birth to my only daughter.

For some reason, she came out hairless! She barely had any hair on her head compared to her two (2) brothers who had come before her with a crown full of hair- beautiful and plentiful.

No matter what I bought, or google tips I searched for, and applied, her hair was just not growing and so I began to look for ways to add something extra to her head- to enhance her crown because I grew up with the maxim that "a woman's hair was her crown".

I bought many commercially made accessories which she wore, but I was not satisfied, and so I began my research into accessory making and started making unique hair accessories for her. Suddenly, my daughter and I started getting complimented for her hair accessories and people began asking about where to get them. It was usually a pleasant surprise learning that I was the creator, and I began gifting them to friends and family. It was an incredibly good feeling.

I was never a crafter, never into handcraft, and suddenly, here I was a superstar hair accessory creator! Crafting became a passion. 😂

During a recession, I lost my high and mighty and well-paying corporate job, and crafting came to the rescue! A passion had become a business- a business that put food on the table for my family! I took up proper training from a hat maker and extended my products to include fascinators, neckpieces, lapel flowers, bouquets, and hats, among other things.

I use different materials and work with different tools, including felt, sinamay, different types of fabrics, and of course, my trusty must- have scissors, amongst other things. My creations are unique, and the process of crafting helps me release creativity, decreases stress and every beautifully finished work gives me a great sense of accomplishment. Crafting is my happy place.

I moved to Canada about three (3) years ago with my family, fleeing persecutions from my home country and started life from the scratch. I however recently gave birth to a new baby and am currently on maternity leave; hence, I am taking this time to find my way back into crafting. It will be my joy to make this a success as I would like to be home to take care of my children.

My daughter is now 10 years old and now has hair which miraculously began to grow since coming here. She still dons the accessories I make and gifts them at every opportunity to teachers and friends.

Because I understand the power of crafting and how it can help mental health, sometime during this pandemic, I offered and taught some members of the "Boys and Girls Club of Canada" how to make a hair flower as my contribution to help decrease stress.

One motivating factor for me in crafting accessories is seeing how nothing- seemingly unconnected pieces come to life and become a beautiful something.

art
1

About the Creator

Olu Akinwumi

Wife & Mum

HR Expert

Speaker

Personal Development Expert

Purpose Strategist

Lover of Crafts and Beautiful things

Hope Dealer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.