Families logo

Forever Stories

Together Stories

By E. W. LynnPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Forever Stories
Photo by Tuyen Vo on Unsplash

I come from a large family; my parents have five children. I am the middle child; I have always been the peacekeeper. I would prefer we all get along however, there were, and still are, not many times all of us can get along. One person would be angry with another for something as easy as sitting where the other wanted to sit at the dinner table or the couch.

However, there was one thing that could bring us all together. My entire family was enamored with the Harry Potter book series by J.K. Rowling. My parents would buy each book as it was published, and we would sit around and read. My mom would sit on the couch with all six of us around her, this number included my father. These were not common happenings in my family before we began to read these books.

Some of us would lay on the floor by her, others on the couch next to her, or sat in nearby chairs. We all wanted to be close enough to hear each detail, each quote. She would read with such emotion and give emphasis to all the right words. Each of us was spellbound by the words and the way she read; we could picture the story in our minds. We would spend hours reading some nights. When the books got to the most interesting and intense parts, we would all tense and be on the edge of our seats, or carpet.

Other times, we would cry together. If it were one of our favorite characters dying to save another. I like to think these story times helped to teach us all empathy among other important life lessons. This in created a part of me that loves to read. Any free moment I have I read. I have read all the Harry Potter books many times each time it brings me back to those moments in my parent’s living room.

I have now purchased the illustrated editions of the books to read with my children at night. Reading it to them is like introducing them to one of my long-lost friends. These were the people that could bring my family together at any time. These were the moments we collectively looked forward to. I want these stories to do the same for my girls.

I hope by reading these stories to my children they are able to learn how to have courage, be curious, learn, love, recognize mistakes, and how to be kind.

Harry Potter had the courage to face death head on. Multiple times within the series he faced moments that could have been extremely dangerous and pulled out. From this example I hope my girls always have the courage to face what is in front of them. I, of course, hope these are not life-threatening instances.

Hermione Granger had the courage to enter a world completely unknown to her. She embraced knowledge and took in any information she could. She thought critically and always did what she could for her friends, even when it was to discourage them from doing the wrong thing. I hope my children will learn to speak up, I hope they crave and enjoy learning as she did. I hope she encourages them to always do the right thing.

Molly Weasley had the ability to show love in some of the rawest ways. She was willing and able to love children who were not her own. She loved them all and cared for them the same way she would her own children. I want my children to live their lives with the same love as Molly. She may have been nervous at times, but she did what she could for those she loved. Her deepest fears were that she would lose the ones she loved. This, this is something I have learned I relate to more than I ever thought I would.

I hope from Draco Malfoy my girls will learn that even if they begin to venture down the wrong path it is never too late to make a change. I hope they will eventually be able to look at their actions and decisions and reflect upon them. I hope they make the changes in their lives where they need to.

From Dobby and Kreacher I hope my girls learn to enjoy the small things and recognize how kindness affects others. I want them to see how one small gesture can change another person’s life. Their actions do not only change their lives they can have an immense impact on the people around them.

Luna Lovegood will teach my girls it is okay to be different. It is okay to have your own beliefs and opinions. They may be the unpopular opinions but that does not invalidate them. I want my girls to go through their lived knowing they do not have to follow what everyone else has been doing, they can create their own path.

I want to read them these books to relive a part of my childhood, where in the moment I did not see what I see now when I read them. I see so much more depth that I did at ten when my mom was reading them to me. I want them to embrace the joy of reading and falling into another world.

book reviews
Like

About the Creator

E. W. Lynn

I love to read and am now beginning to enjoy writing.

I aspire to be a published author, as a hobby. I currently have 4 novel ideas going.

Wish me luck! :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.