Families logo

Fish and Fun

Water sports

By Trycia LinoPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Monterey Bay

“Water, I need water. Since the ban is lifted babe let’s take the kids and go to the beach”, I tell my husband as we are contemplating what to do the first Saturday out of the quarantine.

“Good idea!", he said as he put on his swim shorts and a t-shirt. "What beach do you want to hit up?".

"I was thinking we can go to Santa Cruz first, then go see the aquarium with the kids", I respond.

"Sounds like a plan", he said excited to get out of the house into the water.

"For lunch lets go to Bubba Gump's", I slide into the conversation getting my suit on with shorts. I like Bubba Gump's, but he doesn't like the price much, (to be fare he only likes McDonalds prices). I put it over the edge with, "It's a celebration remember".

"Ok, you win", he said sulking a little.

"I like them words", I smile back at him.

We both get the two boys ready for a day in the sun and surf. I do not like swimming with the fish, but I have missed the water. I am going to keep the kids and myself close to shore especially with the shark attack that just happened. With the beach and ocean not being invaded for a while, the animals have moved in.

"I am sure they have caught the shark?", I said with a question and a little nervous.

"I would think", Dan said. "If not we will make sure to stay near the shore.

“Ok, breakfast is done. Load the car and we will be on our way”, I say with a sing song voice.

We all pile in the van and load up on gas and snacks. Since we moved to the bay beaches are real close.

Car ride

"Look up cutie", I tell my son as I snap a picture. My other son is a sleep in back of me. "Do you have your buckets I got you for Easter?".

Levi looked in the back of the car and spotted them. "I'll get it", he said.

"No, just stay in your seat", Dan said as he looks at me and rolls his eyes. I know Levi loves to take off his seat belt as much as posible and Dan has to stop and put it back on.

I sit back in my seat and close my eyes. I remember the fun time when Levi was smaller and we went to the aquarium at Monterey. There was an area where the water waves come up over the window and it looks like you will get all wet, but you don't. Then I find the picture. I am excited to recreate the picture with both of my boys now,

Loving the water

"Ok, we are here", Dan announces.

I look around." Try to park in our usual spot by the pier".

"I will try, but there are a lot of people here. It is the first day the beach is open for everyone and we can be around people again", Dan said.

"Have some patients and drive around a little, something will open up", I say with a grin. I know he is not the most patient man. "Look right there in front by the bathrooms. Perfect". He parks the car and we start to take everything out of the car.

“Who’s hat is that?”, I ask.

Daniel starts to play in the sand with the babies and I sit in the nice chair soaking up the sun. I look up and my son has a hat on his head that is not ours. "Who's hat do you have on your head", I ask him. He just starts to laugh. I pull out the camera and take a picture.

I look around and see a lady on the blanket next to us looking at my son laughing. "Is this hat yours?", I ask.

"Yes", she said giggling. "He is ok to keep it. I have plenty".

I looked at him, then at the hat and saw how happy he was. "Okay, thank you so much.



Pacific ocean and beach

We have a great time in the sun and then the kids start to get tired. "It is time to load up and head to the aquarium", I said.

"Do you think it's enough time", Dan ask.

I think about it for a while. I know it will be so fun, but there is always tomorrow.

"Let's go eat", I said and Dan agrees with me.

"So where do you want to go now?", Dan ask.

"I don't know, what about you?", I asked.

"I don't know, this is always our problem", Dan said.

"Well there is that place on the pier", I said.

"I really am not sold on it", Dan said.

"Let's go to the Peruvian restaurant", I suggest.

"Sounds good, I'll put it in the GPS", said Dan.

After we eat some Pollo, and papa fritas we call it a day. The kids are ready for bed, and we both are ready to crash. I think we all got too much sun, but to be able to get out of the house and go to the beach a place we love as a family is priceless to me.

travel
Like

About the Creator

Trycia Lino

Trycia has a BS in Sociology and Gerontology. Her MAED in Counseling and a ABD PhD in Edication. She is the Author The Guardian of Machu Picchu Elixir of Life.

She is married to an amazing man Daniel, and has two amazing boys.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.