Families logo

First Grandmother serving

Modern Satire

By Matthew PrimousPublished 29 days ago 3 min read
First Grandmother serving
Photo by Ainara Oto on Unsplash

Yes my son finally won and I was sitting with my grandchildren and talking on the phone with Mrs. Claudy. Mrs. Claudy was my friend since I came out of college. She was a good friend and she advised me on my career. She inspired me to run. We were young and feminists. We were driven by that platform and we party too to that platform. I remember Mrs. Claudy was my best friend. And we did everything together. I knew everything about her and she knew everything about me. And I would tell her about my big problems. She was always reliable. And now we both have grandchildren. We both have our own lives but we reached out to each other every now and then. When I heard my son say my name on live TV with his wife and Vice President standing with him, I almost drop the phone. And I told Mrs. Claudy who was congratulating me that I can't serve again. I can't serve in the government. I resigned like twenty years ago. I haven't even considered running or serving. And Mrs. Claudy reminded me that she had military family. And she would talk about how they served. And I said Della Claudy I understand your position but I have to think about it. And Mrs. Claudy knew when I talk like that political that I really was uncertain. And so after sometime, my son called me but I was avoiding him because I did not want to serve. I would put my phone on do not disturb. And finally he came out to me saying you know Mom I know you watched the news. You are the First Grandmother. And I did that because you were my main supporter. I need you in Congress and I need you in the White House. We come so far. We did so much. And I still was minding my own business. And he sought the Secret Service a distance away and he said Mommie would I hurt you? Would I put you in an compromising position. You can do this. I believe in you. I need my mother. I need the woman who bear me. I need the woman who footsteps I am walking in. And I warmed up but I said Bernie you can't butter me up. I don't want to be involved. Those people torture me, they intimidated me, they persecuted me. How could you expect me to go back? What I did for you with Harold Senator Forge was a one time deal. I did not want you to expect me to go into the White House. And Bernie turned, sad and desperate and left in his car. And I looked worried and distraught. Eventually Bernie's wife came, Cindy saying You love our children. You love me and you love Bernie. You are still alive Mother Betty. And they did not break you. You are stronger than ever. And your son need you. Your son is begging asking you. And why would you turn away remember the country, remember the union remember the party. You still owe it to them. You still are indebted to the people. And I told Cindy after she convinced me that I would do it. I finished golfing with Mrs. Claudy and our cadies were friends. And Mrs. Claudy asked if I took the job. She said retirement is hell boring as hell and sometimes I think some people wait to die or spoiled the hell out of their savings. Betty you can lead us to better benefits. You can show that we still got it. Betty do it for all of us. And I drink a little and reminded Mrs. Claudy of our college days. Bernie and Cindy was waiting for me in Washington D.C. I came on a helicopter issued by the President my son. And I hug and shook hands with the President and the First Lady. And I told the press simply, You mess with President Bernie, you mess with me. Not only because he is my beloved son but also because he is a good president and he wants to restore the union the way it should have been hundreds of years ago. And that is the most honorable thing I could think of. He is my President and your President.

grandparents

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Sweileh 88829 days ago

    Interesting and delicious content. Keep posting more now.

  • shanmuga priya29 days ago

    I like your writing.

MPWritten by Matthew Primous

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.