Families logo

Feels like home

Just the 3 of us ❤️

By allegra jackPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
Connected by the ❤️

There are three of us. THREE. And speaking of 3s I was 33 the year I met my SISTERS for the very first time. This was our first picture taken together. EVER. They are 12 & 15 years older than me, we share the same father , or sperm donor as I like to call him. He was married to Ginna ( my sisters mother) and while pregnant with Ashley the middle sister, my “ father” left a note for Ginna that had Heather age 2 and Ashley in her belly at just 4 months, he said “ he couldn’t handle it” and left. Walked out never looked back. Fast forward some years he meets Tricia, MY MOM, and they marry have me and lo & behold the crackpot does it again! Except this time my mom kicked him out , after letting him come back a few times, she had ENOUGH. Filled for sole custody he of course never contested and that WAS THAT. I always knew I had “ sisters” not just step but actual BLOOD siblings... but I grew up an only child and I never had any kind of relationship with my sisters or my father ... up until March 2020. My father reached out to the three of us, said he had written a book and it was dedicated to “ his girls” convenient we were his girls when he needed to sound like a nice caring man son people would read his literal CRAP book, none the less it went to ALL THREE OF US. And I am the firmest believer that “ everything happens for a reason” cool story about that for another time. Never the less... they both reached out to me, through social media, told me they wanted to know their “ sister” they wanted me to know my NIECES AND NEPHEWS... they loved me . Talk V about throwing someone for a loop... I went from being an only child with no siblings or any nieces or nephews to overnight having two sisters. A brother in law, and FIVE nieces and nephews. There were EIGHT people, eight family members, who knew about me and WANTED to know me! Be a part of my life.

We started voraciously sharing emails with pictures and stories and memories ... literally EVERYTHING. I felt like I had known them my whole life it was the most natural and fulfilling thing I have ever experienced. They happen to live in Fresno, Ca and I am in Houston, TX... and it’s 2020 , world wide pandemic, but I HAD to meet them ... if I didn’t do it NOW, I would of talked myself out of it, because well that’s what I do! OVER THINK EVERY LITTLE THING! So I literally wasted NO TIME. As soon as I knew my schuedle and figured out Symantec’s I was on EXPEDIA and had booked my flight for 5 full days at the end of October , to meet my FAMILY. They were just as shocked as I was I think... but they were excited and of course had been encouraging me to come , I just don’t V think they thought I Would do it SO QUICKLY.

I did. And the anticipation and what if’s grew with each passing day. We continued talking and learning about eachother , learning we had SO MUCH In common, I shared more with these two strangers practically than I had with ANY other person in my life. Ever. Well I felt like a kid going to Disneyland, I was SO EXCITED I could hardly contain myself, until a few days before I was leaving.. the dread and doubt set in, fast and heavy.

What if I was nothing like they expected? What if it was weird in person and I felt out of place and in the way? Their were 8 of them, they all knew each other a lifetime and here I come practically out of nowhere to say “ Hiii , I’m your Auntie A, and your moms are my sisters . Oh how you ask? Well our “ father” was a total P.O.S & we share DNA soooo here I AM! I hope y’all like me 😬 I literally felt physically ill the whole two days before I left .

The day arrived I had a 7 a.m. flight to LAX and a quick layover then puddle jumped to FRESNO airport. Meanwhile in a hazmat suit pretty much, pictured above, bc I have a pre existing condition and EVEN IF I DIDN’T I am terrified of getting COVID. So I was basically or literally rather risking my life to meet these people. I landed in Fresno and my oldest sister and her daughter , my YOUNGEST niece of the five , were standing there , at the end of the LONGGGGGG walk way through to the other side. I could see them, they could see me. My heart was beating SO LOUDLY I could hear it in my ears, palms sweating, dry mouth, almost in tears because I’m so overwhelmed by emotions.

I reached them, they embraced me. And it felt like HOME. Every worry , every doubt, all my fears and what if’s ... they were instantly washed away . It was the most intensely magical moment I’ve experienced to date. In THAT moment I knew my life was forever changed. In so many ways, and my ❤️, well that instantly was SO FULL .

The trip itself..... ups & downs with lots of lessons! Part 2 coming 🔜!

How I traveled ... also wore gloves!

siblings
1

About the Creator

allegra jack

Hey I’m Allegra, I am 33 years young, live in H Town TX I have a fur baby. Never married and no kids. I am currently in school to finish my degree & on Valentine’s Day 2021 I will celebrate EIGHT years of consecutive sobriety.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.