Families logo

Family Symbolism

The significance behind our symbolism.

By LaBree JohnsonPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1
November 2021 Johnson Family Tattoos

People may wonder about the significance of symbolism. I believe many reasons exist. Symbols represent ideas and qualities. Thus, the importance is to remind and represent the idea with a symbol.

The tattoos we had inked into our skin was the word family. Family can be described as lineage, ties, and also by people's shared similarities in a situation. Family can also demonstrate more than lineage or ties. Families usually share love and commitment. Our family also shares a sense of loyalty and understanding. I deeply appreciate those qualities.

Loyalty can be to a cause, a family, a nation, or country. Loyalty can be described as faithfulness to commitments and obligations. In Knowing this, we deeply understand the importance of family.

Recently, I took a trip to see one of my most favorite people in the world. He is charismatic, dedicated, and has one hell of a sense of humor. That someone is no other than my brother Rodney. Some people know him for his wrestling, rapping, or skateboarding stunts. I have known him his whole life. He has made my life tremendously better. He is a wonderful brother.

The trip was a very unique one. I had called Rodney on the phone the week before our trip. I explained that my daughter and I wanted to go to a concert. So, like the great brother he is, he decided to go with us. We even brought my oldest nephew along with us. Not only were we going to experience a show of a lifetime, but we were also there for our kid's first show. I felt that was a huge deal. Experiencing that with them is unforgettable.

On Halloween Night my daughter and I started our road trip. We had dressed up as clowns and drove on the highway. It was a long trip through the country. It was already nightfall when we reached his city. We decided to go to a hotel room before going to my brother's house. I thought I was so sleepy. Once I was in my room, I ate a whole bag of candy. I sat up watching new videos that I guess I had missed before. My brother was at work. So, I was just comfortable and enjoying my time.

That next day, my daughter and I went to visit the guys. So, we were all catching up and chatting. I hadn't realized that we would need to travel even longer to the concert until my brother let me know. I had never been to Louisville, Kentucky before. We didn't want to miss the show. We decided to head toward Louisville.

Immediately, the morale had begun. I was thrilled. I'm not sure what our children thought of us in that moment. I do know they seemed to be enjoying the ride and were looking forward to the concert. It was also an amazing feeling to have the opportunity to celebrate and head to a show with my brother again. Our antics and hollering the whole way there, was just like the old times.

It was nightfall once again. We came to the city of Louisville. It was well lit with lights and signs. It wasn't too cold that night either. We found the club named Diamonds. It wasn't a huge wait like some shows. We all got right in. It was a really unique setting. It had a classier more comfortable feel than I had expected.

The guys enjoyed drinks. My daughter and I were shopping and taking pictures and videos at first. We then watched three different performances. I found it amusing. My brother started a mosh pit, I believe. So, I went toward the back with my daughter to explain what was going on while keeping her out of the way. Unfortunately, that left us open to meet a man called Pharoah. Everything was fine at first. Then the Pharoah and my brother had a few drinks. I began to feel uncomfortable with the situation. I looked closer at the situation. I knew something risky might happen. I didn't like the Pharoah's mannerism. Then the Pharoah had put his hand in front of my face. Shortly after that he attempted to lure my brother to an area so he could approach my daughter. We were both keen to what could happen. Immediately, my brother rose to her defense. He put his hand on the man's chest and directed him to the bar. I realized it was a lure and my brother was doing something about the situation and fulfilling a sacred obligation. So, I looked out for the children while watching what was going on. I yelled at the man to warn him not to touch my family. He put his hands up as he knew he was in the wrong to show he didn't want a problem.

The headliner came on I thought we were going to watch the rest of the show. We all walked toward the stage. Security then made a comment to us wanting my brother to leave. My brother began to "wasteland walk" with a grin on his face. We were rushed out of the venue. When I walked to get the car, I had another chat with the Pharoah one on one. I gave him some advice and advised him to step back away from me. So, he did and wanted to know where we were from. I also let him know.

Once we all made it back to the car, I drove us out of that place. Though I wanted to watch the rest of the concert, I wasn't disappointed. I was very proud of my family. I am proud of Rodney for defending his family. I am proud of my nephew for his devotion. I'm proud of myself for being a peacekeeper, not letting the situation get worse, and getting us out of that situation. I'm also proud of my daughter for being understanding and not getting upset. It is apparently what we needed to work together as a family. The trip was significant and a victory.

The following day my brother and I received matching tattoos. I explained to my brother why I wanted to get a family tattoo. We decided we should get matching tattoos. I think it was a brilliant idea. It is a great reminder to think of the family before making big decisions.

values
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.