Families logo

Everything and Anything

A simple life

By Just DanielPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
3
Everything and Anything
Photo by Guillermo Ferla on Unsplash

Ev was just scrolling on her phone for the last hour, happily laughing at some funny home pet videos. Lying down and then occasionally switching positions so that she would alternate between looking at her phone in the air with her back on the bed or lying on her stomach and propping herself up with her elbows, kicking her feet up to unconsciously exercise a little and burn a couple calories. She would've continued until a ray of sunshine suddenly blinded her in the eyes and she almost dropped her phone. Luckily she managed to keep her grip on her phone and used it for a split second to shield herself from the sun.

"Ow, what the heck!?" exclaimed Ev as she brought her left hand up, protecting her from the wrathful light of the sun. After her initial surprise and several seconds of squinting, she then looked at the clock on her phone and it said 4:30PM. "Oh. My. Goodness!! I am late and I haven't even started making the chocolate cake for tonight! I already got dinner covered; whew good thing I prepared all the side dishes and main dishes ahead of time; but how did time pass by so quickly?! I mean how is it even possible that two-and-a-half hours of social media could just whoosh by in a flash like that? Wait.. Has it already been two-and-a-half hours...? Oops."

Oh well, it's not like I won procrastinator of the year in my junior year of high school for nothing Evelyn thought. Showtime!

"I was planning to make a layered cake before but that is clearly out the window now!" "Also, if you don't step on it Evelyn, I'm going to chuck YOU out the window as well as whatever state the cake will be in" Ev mumbled to herself. You know she's serious when she calls herself Evelyn.

"Alright, so first things first, I've got to measure the flour, about 2 1/2 cups worth, a teaspoon of baking powder, 1 cup of white sugar, a pinch of salt, and my specialty, a dash of cream of tartar. Ooh! And of course, can't forget the cocoa powder. I have to measure at least 1/2 a cup of that. Mix all the dry ingredients together. Now, I add 4 eggs says the recipe, hmm, I think I'll add 6. I'll be a bit more liberal since they were on sale for $.99 for a dozen large eggs last week. Thank goodness I got two dozen on my account and then used my sister's phone number the next day to get two more dozen. It's not like she buys eggs anyways. Alright, now it asks for butter but I think I'll just add some vegetable oil, maybe 1/4 a cup and then use some milk. I'll use my hand mixer because I can't afford an arm and a leg for a stand up mixer and plus it's too clunky. I don't like how much counter space it takes up. Alright, it's all mixed. Time to pop it in the oven at 350 degrees Fahrenheit and wait for it to bake for 50 minutes to an hour."

As Evelyn finally breathed a sigh of relief, she sat down on her couch and her mind slowly drifted away. The crisis had been adverted for the moment and with her apron still on, she allowed herself to relax a little. The corners of her mouth unknowingly drifted upwards into a warm smile as she remembered that around this time two years ago, she was invited to her sister, Wendy's wedding. It had been four years that her now brother-in-law, Eddie, proposed to her sister and Ev knew just how hard Eddie had been working in his company to get a promotion and save up for the wedding and the honeymoon. She was overjoyed when she heard the news. Even better, the location was absolutely astounding and made Ev gasp with childish glee. At that time, she brought her hands together to cover her mouth and nose, her eyes positively twinkling, and was practically jumping up and down when she heard the news.

BRR BRR BRR! Ev snapped out of her beautiful memories as the timer to the cake beeped and she sailed her feet forward from the couch to the open where she grabbed her oven mitts and took the cake out of the oven. She allowed it to cool for a bit before she opened a suspicious looking brown package that was still in the instant cake mix box, which contained the dry contents of the chocolate icing glaze. She added her ingredients, mixed them together, put it in the microwave for thirty seconds and then poured the mixture over the top of the cake and voila, cake complete. Now all that's left to do is to entertain her guests that would be here any minute now. Hey ho, let's go!

fact or fiction
3

About the Creator

Just Daniel

I write short fiction when I have time. There are also elements of my life interwoven with fantasy that I incorporated into my writing. I also like the unknown, so enter into the dark, true, and mysterious if you dare...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.