Families logo

Every Mom Needs A Break

whether you want to admit it or not...

By Lizzie BrooksPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

I know all moms are with me, when I say that I've had my fair share of bad days where I wish I could just run away, and can't. I have two tiny humans that rely on me for everything every single day, that most of the time I forget to take care of myself. Being a stay at home mom isn't for everyone, and I'm not ashamed to admit it when I say it's definitely not for me. I became a stay at home mom when I found out I was pregnant with my second son. I thought it was going to be great being home with both of my children and not having to put them in daycare. It was great at first, now here I am three years later and I try to work whenever I can, just to get some adult interaction. Every mom deserves a break. Work isn't it.

I work in a nursing home taking care of people, that's not a break. I love my job, but I learned that I can't use it as a getaway, because at the end of the day, I'm still not taking care of myself. Ladies, we were all someone before we became mothers, and I know I'm not the only one that lost themselves after I had my children. I'm just not ashamed to admit it anymore. I thought I was the only one that was like this, I thought I was going to seem like a bad mom because I didn't want to spend ALL of my time with my children. But, lets face it, if we aren't taking care of ourselves, we aren't being the best moms we can be. Our children are affected by that, they can sense when we aren't okay, and that's not okay. We deserve a break.

Whether it's going for a coffee, taking a bubble bath, or even finally getting that nap that you've been trying to take for months now, do something for yourself. You might feel guilty, and you will probably miss your kids whatever you decide to do for yourself, but lets face it, we're human! Of course we are going to miss our kids when they're gone, they're our children! They drive us insane, make more messes than we could ever imagine, cry over spilled milk, and ask a trillion questions a day...but I know I speak for all of us moms when I say we wouldn't have it any other way.

I am currently going through a divorce, so I've been without my kids for a couple days at a time now since we have shared custody. I miss them like crazy when they're gone, I cry at night when they aren't here, but I see myself being a better mom having that time. I can work because I want to work, and not because I'm trying to get away. Which is truly the best feeling, because it reminded me how much I truly do love my job. Every mom needs a break whether they're willing to admit it or not.

I'll never forget the day I was in Target, a very rare occasion that I was without my children. I saw this woman rushing out of the store with her screaming toddler and I stopped her, gave her a hug, and reassured her that we have all been there. I remember the first time my oldest son threw the biggest fit because I wouldn't buy him a toy. (I know I'm such a terrible mom.) I was so embarrassed. I knew exactly how this mom felt. I couldn't have gone the rest of my day without reassuring her that she was not alone, we have all been there.

Whoever said that being a mom is easy, they lied. If you're not blessed, stressed, and coffee obsessed, are you even doing it right? Keep on keepin' on mamas, you are not alone! Don't ever forget that every mom deserves a break, and it's okay to feel guilty about it, YOU'RE HUMAN!!

children
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.