Families logo

Every Kid Deserves a Champion

Parents connecting

By A. LuschPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
beauty beyond measure

My entire life, I have been told I should work with children. Even as a child, I never felt like a kid. I always felt as if it was my purpose to care for others. So much so that I started babysitting at an alarmingly early age. Connecting to and understanding kids have always been a natural part of my makeup. In searching for a career in my early college days, I fell in love with Paramedicine. As a paramedic, I was responsible for patients regardless of age, but I always went above and beyond to protect and advocate for pediatric patients.

As fate would have it, I couldn't conceive children. I adopted my first child, and years later, I met my wife, and she carried while my brother donated for my second child. I'm one of those people who believes everything happens for a reason and serves a purpose. Sitting where I am at in life with my experiences, I understand why I've always done so well with children. My kids needed me to be understanding and patient, and they each needed a strong advocate. Each of my children comes with a set of special needs. My youngest daughter started losing words just before her second birthday. I noticed it and immediately called for speech therapy intervention. Luckily a team evaluated her and highlighted a need for other therapies. After about six months of no progress and worsening behaviors, one of her therapists suggested I have her evaluated. I had no clue what the therapist was referring to in regards to an evaluation. She gave me the name of a developmental pediatrician. Keep in mind, I was a medical professional and had a general understanding of the basics of the medical world.

A lot of worrying and a few evaluations later, we received the diagnosis of Autism Spectrum Disorder. It's like being thrown into an alternate dimension when you step into the world of special needs. There's a world of different linguistics, therapy types, government programs, school assistance, and family needs that you don't know exist until someone tells you they exist. Upon my youngest's diagnosis of Autism Spectrum Disorder, I threw myself into researching everything Autism. I was thrown for a loop because her being autistic wasn't even on my radar; she didn't present as the stereotypical autistic kid. Come to find out, only recently did girls start getting accurate diagnoses because they present so differently from boys. The level of patience, dedication, and hard work that goes into helping my kids are pretty much all-consuming most days. Navigating therapies, attending said therapies, and implementing the therapeutic strategies is a full-time job. In finding what helps my children, I have also had to weed through subpar professionals, and it's a tough gig. My child has been nonverbal until recently, and she is five years old. I have sacrificed my fulfillment via career path to dedicate myself to caring for her and getting her the therapies she needs. She needed a voice; that was my job.

If I could make money through this experience, it would be through providing parental support or guidance. I would love to help parents find even a glimmer of calm in any storm of parenting. I've become a professional at finding resources and programs to help kids and parents. To add to that, I would love to advocate for acceptance and awareness. Inclusivity is so important. Both of my kids, despite their unique needs, have passions they dream of. They each have desires of playing and being a kid, just like any of their peers. The sooner difference is normalized, the sooner there is a chance at having peace in this world. I would love to play a part in that in any way possible; I owe it to my kids. I want to look into their eyes every day and confidently tell them I'm doing everything I can to be the best parent for them. They hold beauty beyond measure, and there is a special magic about special needs that the world should hear about.

children
1

About the Creator

A. Lusch

Non-Binary author

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.