Families logo

Edwin Gilbert

My Grandfather and My Best Friend

By Amber PottsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Love is a powerful thing

Edwin Gilbert 1934-2020

So, my Grandfather was my best friend. He passed away this year and honestly its been a little tough for me, especially knowing today is my Birthday and he's not here and he wont be here for Christmas. He was the one that held the family together like glue. He was my biggest fan and biggest supporter.

Background on my Grandfather; he was a fisherman for sure. He loved to fish and hunt. It was something my Grandfather instilled in me. He was a big member of the community and always gave back. He was a veteran and a a marine. He was a loving husband. He was a loving father. He also was a writer and I think that was his biggest passion in life. My grandfather wrote the outdoors column in the paper here in town. He would write about everything and he always kept it interesting and he always made it about families and their adventures in the outdoors, their successes, and about the community. He also has written several books. And let me tell you, his stories never failed to impress me and make me laugh. He loved writing about outdoors stuff, adventures, and he even wrote a book that told funny stories. He always loved to make people laugh. He was also a very good comic drawer. My grandfather was a wonderful and talented man.

My grand father was a constant part of my life. I was always over at my grandparents on the weekends, in the summer, whenever I could I was always visiting with him. He would take me fishing. He would take me to Walmart all the time so I could get another stuffed animal to add to my collection. He always came to all of my choir performances, school plays and musicals. Music is a huge part of my life and my grandfather always supported me with that.

I remember growing up he always made my visits with him special. He used to have this box of old coins and memorabilia from when he was in the war and traveled all over the place. He used to take some of those coins and berry them somewhere around the property for me to find. He would make a treasure map and put clues all over the house and outside in order for me to find the treasure, I loved that. He used to help me with building forts in the back yard.

I miss my Grandfather so much. I wanted to share about him and what my life was like with him. He was always there for me no matter what. He was the biggest celebration of my life. I wanted to write this as a memorial of him. I have yet to go to his grave because I guess I am scared to admit the fact that he is no longer here with me.. But then, I remind myself he is with me in spirit and always will be. That does bring me some comfort and strangely enough as I have been writing this I can almost feel him next to me.

So, for all of you out there that have Grandfather they love and cherish I challenge you to write about it. I challenge you to love them everyday and always spend every waking moment with them. They won't be here for ever. Here is to the grandparents that loved us. Here is to the Grandparents that were our biggest fans.

grandparents
Like

About the Creator

Amber Potts

My name is Amber and I am 28 years old. I work in the medical field and my one hobby on the side is reading and writing. I have always loved a good story and I am here to share my stories, thoughts and ideas with you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.