Families logo

Dysfunctional Family

Family Feud

By Charlene EllisonPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I married a man with two kids and an ex-wife. I have not experienced giving birth to a baby, but I accept his kids as if they were my own. Although, I was never given a manual on the do's or don’ts of being a stepmother yet somehow, I seem to have survived! We have been married for several years, moved out of state to be closer to the kids, and be more supportive. Unfortunately, his ex -wife was in the process of a second divorce and his kids despised me, since they thought their parents would finally get back together. He made it clear to them that I was here to stay. The kids are now adults from a 19-year-old boy and a 24-year-old girl. In the real world, eventually, people grow out of disliking someone and get to know the person, but my experience with the ex-wife became a little more than I bargained for as a step parent.

The ex-wife would constantly call his cell phone regarding his daughter who is disabled with Cerebral Palsy and play the victim of a single mother role. She demands more help with her daughter, expresses that the daughter does not listen to her or suggests to placing her in a group home. She is an attention-seeker, because she knew how much her father loves his daughter, hoping it would drive me away through jealousy. I encouraged him to take his daughter on trips and to show the mother I am not against his bond with his kids. My step daughter comes every other weekend with an agenda and puts her mother on speaker when I am in the room. She rolls her eyes when I speak to her or turns her head at times when I look at her. I spoke with her in private that I am not here to break up the family, but to be a blended family. Well, that did not work out as planned and I accept her decision to take it slow. For example, she initiates to her father if they can go to the movies alone or ask if I was coming along. My stepson expresses himself by slamming the door, walking fast paced through the living room, giving me the evil eye at times, and the silent treatment unless I am speaking to him.

Tough love is hard but is requires strong willpower, and a lesson to be learned. I smile through the dysfunction, because it was the mother who influenced their actions and selfish ways to restore what was gone many years ago. However, I never accept the disrespect. Although, I addressed the elephant in the room that I was not a home wrecker and they were already divorced years prior to dating her ex-husband. Countless times I have asked my husband if he is happy and if this marriage is worth fighting for with all the challenges. I was about to walk away from my husband because of the negative energy, and he was fighting to keep me there. He tells me that co-parenting is his objective as far as communicating with his ex-wife. He confesses his love for me and we must not let that tear us apart.

Although, I have the perfect opportunity to dislike his ex-wife for so many reasons, but I have compassion for her. When they were married at a young age he just wanted to experience life without a title. She became pregnant with their son and he felt trapped, because he had already fallen out of love with her. I too had experienced my ex-husband falling out of love with me as well. He fell in love with another woman after I went through the rough years with him. I stopped looking at her as a bitter woman, but as a broken woman who had hoped of rekindling the flame. It takes courage to understand the pain of someone else, understand why they are hurting, and to find peace. I know that in time they may never accept our marriage, but I have accepted what I cannot change and that one day they will heal!

extended family
Like

About the Creator

Charlene Ellison

I am a graduate student in general psychology. I love to express emotions through creative writing leaving individual's with a positive thought out of a bad situation!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.