Families logo

Downtown

Story

By kuljit mannPublished 3 years ago 19 min read
Like

Downtown

While wandering in the Downtown, Ram Singh remembered the morning time. I don't know what to do. God has given so many dollars; God has given him everything; we should thank him. I have worked all my life, and now I have two jobs. Ram Singh was thinking from another point of view. It seemed to him that Pammi did not want to stay at home. She has said many times that she suffocates at home. Ram Singh also spoke to his doctor about it. He had the same idea that Pammi seems to be depressed.

Pammi has a habit from the beginning that she does not take medicine. She drinks liquid medication, but it is tough for her to pass the pill. She will first push the pill forward with her finger and then drink the water and later feel a shiver.

Ram Singh did research on the internet, but he was not satisfied with anything. He wanted to do something for Pammi. He also did not have much faith in allopathic pills. There are side effects to everything, be it a medicine or a lot of work. Pammi was stubborn. When the girl went to Windsor University, Pammi had a bed in her heart as if the girl's education would be incomplete without her. In fact, there was a delusion in her thoughts.

Equity in the home was such that there was never a shortage. Education Savings Plan money is available.

Student loans could be taken if required, but who will explain to Pammi?

Ram Singh's thought was that Pammi should be happy, but how could she be happy? He always tried to talk to sad women. He was trying to find out about them. Many beautiful girls were also sad. He would try to find out the cause of their sadness.

In Downtown, he found a young beggar. Her name was Perry. Homeless Perry also had a dog named Agnes. Agnes always clings to Perry as if trying to comfort her.

She would sit in one of the corners around the Dundas circle. Don't ask for anything from anyone; just have an empty cup of coffee in front of people who will put something in it. She wouldn't even say thank you. As if saying that you have to give, if not, then getaway. Ram Singh would occasionally look at Perry and Agnes when he was not busy with a hot dog cart.

She would occasionally come to his cart, picking up hot dogs and sausages for Agnes. He had never had a soft drink to drink. Ram Singh found out that she doesn't buy soft drinks just for money. After eating hot dogs, she would drink water from a washroom. Perry herself said. Whatever one does, a can of coke is worth a dollar, and a bottle of water is worth a dollar also.

Perry would occasionally sit in a corner next to Ram Singh's cart. Begging is also a job, never sitting in the place of begging and smoking; whenever she wants to smoke, she would get up and walk away. She would pull the last drag hard and come back to Agnes.

Her jeans were torn above the knees, unknown the fact that jeans are too old or she had torn it from there knowingly. There would be a glimpse of her white thighs from the potty spot, and the passer-by would get more emotional. Such a situation arises that what a beautiful girl she is and life does not know what has become of her. The body was heavy, which can be called sexy. Sadness on her face and half-dressed clothes, just sitting in the Downtown or walking around looking like a beggar, and that was her skill. In a way, she was good at her job if I had to read from a different view.

Ram Singh does not know why he wanted to know about her life. Maybe in her story, he finds some clues to please Pammi. Perry would be less than thirty, maybe even less than twenty-five, but she wasn't over thirty at all. Pammi was now over fifty but seemed to be over sixty.

Perry walked slowly, the hot dog cart came, and she ordered the hot dog and asked, "Mr. Ram, you look happy today?"

"Yes, Perry, I'm better today than ever before because my daughter is coming from Windsor today and will be home on the weekend. This evening we will have the whole family sitting together and talking a lot. ”

"Oh, great, very nice."

"After all, Christmas is coming. Happiness is slowly coming to everyone. Aren't you happy?" Ram Singh said.

Perry laughed, "That's me too."

"Are you going to visit your family at Christmas too?" This was a question that Ram Singh should not have asked, but he did ask today.

"No, Ram Singh, I'm not going anywhere. Christmas will also pass around Dundas with Agnes. After all, people are very kind at Christmas. A few extra dollars, I would buy a nice snack for Agnes. He also needs a jacket in the cold, and he's too tired to eat sausages every day. ”

"Good Perry, I'm leaving early today. If you need anything, tell me. I'll make sausages for Agnes for free.

“Yes, yes, why not? your daughter is coming today; you are glad to want to share happiness with Agnes, that is great, you will give free today, God bless her."

Ram Singh locked the cart and covered it with tarpaulin. He took out some essentials, which he had to take home in a van and put in the freezer. Besides, he used to come on weekends, even though most of the offices were closed, but there were still enough visitors, and his work was as usual. ”

"Bye, Perry. Bye, Agnes." Ram Singh put the goods in the van and drove away. Perry took care of the sausage. It was not time to give it to Agnes.

Ram Singh took a four-twenty-seven highway off the Gardner Express Highway and drove out to Derry. He remembered that Pammi's depression medicine was over. There was no prescription, so he called the doctor and had it faxed. The medicine was ready, and he took it and walked home again.

Ram Singh had turned on the radio, but his attention was not on the radio at all. He started thinking about Pammi. What kind of disease have poor women contracted? It has been four years since she started taking depression pills. It was no longer a matter of depression but of medicine. If she doesn't take or misses, she can't get out of bed the next day—the air in the skull slides and cracks. The doctor says it will go away slowly. The body has become used to a toxic chemical. Medicine becomes the need of her body. Besides, Ram Singh advises, she never stops working, never even missed overtime when asked.

Everything would be fine, but she digs out a reason to believe that they need money for this reason or that reason. She feels insecure and thinks she is very miserable.

`Are you alone miserable?`Ram Singh thought all the time.

And what about the pain, what about the weight on your soul? Everything is good, and she is worried about anything.

Ram Singh is talking in his thoughts. The time has come now. I have to do something to make her understand. Maybe I would seek help for my daughter.

It's a four-hour drive; he reached home at three-thirty.

When the van stopped, the phone rang; he put his ear to it, and then Babu said, "Hi Dad."

"That babu, where are you?" When will you arrive? I have just arrived home; your mother would be waiting for you. ”

"Oh, Dad, I think you miss Mom so much, so talk to Mom now."

"Yes, are you here?" Pammi asked on the phone.

"Where are you, both of you? When did Babu come?"

"She arrived at ten o'clock. I was surprised. She never woke up early usually but today

Babu left at six o'clock, drank coffee on the way. We are at Fortino now, and we are taking the cake for you. ”

"Why the cake?"

"I also asked, saying Dad likes it and I have to buy it with my own money, now I'm working… part-time."

Ram Singh laughed and said, "How long are you coming? I will make you some tea; Babu will not drink tea I know; tell her to get Tim Horton for her.”

"Yes, we'll get there in ten minutes; we are already with the cashier."

It was mid-December, and most offices were closing. The downtown rush was slowing down. Tourists also rarely come these days; only locals go around to see the lights, but they seldom get out of the car at the hot dog cart and what someone has to eat. Ram Singh also had to come in a couple of days. He did not know why he gets a glimpse of Babu from Perry, probably because they are the same age. He had been preparing the ground for several days to talk to Perry. It wasn't Perry; it was Babu. He did not want Babu to ever find herself in a situation where her mother was coming out of it or seeing a glimpse of Perry.

Perry took the hot dog and said, "Ram Singh, I see that you are showing some sympathy, and I am irritated by the sympathy. My father had the same sympathy. Only empathy can break your back. Like a toy given to a child. ”

"My daughter, I'm not sympathetic; I'm just asking if I can get some help for my own family.."

"I'm not your daughter, don't call me daughter anymore; there are many more hot dog carts."

Perry was angry.

"What can I tell you?"

"Anything but no more daughter."

"Come on, Miss Perry, you are my friend, just friend, now tell me something about yourself.”

"You have to close your cart. Can you afford this? ”

"If you say so, I'll throw the cart in the garbage."

Perry laughed and said, "No, it's not necessary.

Let's put the tarpaulin on now. I'll see how much damage it can do to listen."

Ram Singh immediately locked the cart.

"I couldn't sleep all night when my dad took me to a psychiatrist, and he declared my postpartum depression in my report."

"What is this postpartum depression?" Ram Singh asked.

"I had a son, and he was four months old. I don't know who his father is. My thoughts became such that I could hurt him. I can even kill him. I can commit suicide and don't know what to do, and I can't be allowed to be open. The doctor also sent the report to the health department, and the ambulance picked me up. That's when the only thing that came to my mind was that if anyone wants to erase my name from this world, he can only be my dad. "

"I am sorry, Perry." Ram Singh said briefly.

"No, Ram Singh, there is nothing wrong on your part; you are not part of that world, I feel it. I am worried about my son that something might happen to him, and the doctor was saying that I was a danger to him. I have nightmares; my son is hungry, he has a cold, he has no clothes. I was being treated in my father's shelter and could do nothing for my child. It dawned on me that my son was about to be killed and that I could not save him as a mother. ”

“But how did the idea come to your mind that your dad is your enemy? I'm a dad, too; it can never happen; you must have misunderstood somewhere. ”

"You don't know Ram Singh, you are from another country, you are different people, we are not like you, we are good, but we are different, and Dad will definitely not be like you, you love your daughter very much. ”

"Perry, I can say for sure that no matter what the country is, where a border starts and where a border ends, dads all over the world are the same who want the best for their children."

Perry laughed and said, "Ram Singh, how can you be so sure when you don't know anything? If you want to hear it, listen, don't waste time with your meaningless views.

it's going to be lunch, and that's the rush hour for me and for you too. ”

"Okay, Perry, don't talk anymore; you do continue your story-thing."

“I don't know why I wanted to breastfeed my son. Maybe this is the divine instinct of motherhood. It was my fundamental right, but my dad didn't like it either. How did he create the conspiracy? I don`t know? I just became hyper, even hyper watchful; I don't know what was in it. Even if the wax stops, your figure will deteriorate. No one cared about my brain, which was deteriorating. ” own. ”

“Now the same mother and the same father come after me, and I go out in front of people knowing how to tease them. You know that I don't need to earn enough. Agnes is the only one who lives with me, for when I have some money, I become carefree. My mother once grabbed my arm in Dundas Square. There was a good commotion, even the police came. She wanted to give me a letter of revenue agency, and I was saying that I was homeless. Go and tell the revenue people too. The police, seeing my condition, sent my mother back with some explanation and some laws. She could not do that with an adult. That night, for the first time, I put on a marijuana suit and slept soundly. Now I have no dreams. Never Not that I forgot to laugh, no… Ram Singh now, but I forgot to cry. This naughty Agnes keeps making me laugh. If I tell you what he did, you will be amazed. ”

"Yeah yeah ... Perry tell me how Agnes makes you laugh too?"

“Agnes knows that after Mariuana drags, I have a sound sleep.

He also knows where the money bag is. He keeps an eye on the biker whenever he comes. Seeing him, he pulls the package and then hits me; I know right away that David has arrived. Once you know what happened? When David arrived, I was in the Eaton Center washroom, and we were camping just outside Burger King. Agnes surrounded David's bicycle. Don't let him go ahead; happily scare him anyway.

I handed over to Miller, my homeless friend, got rid of him, and crossed the road right after David, not seeing him stop and fell at his feet. He also understood and laughed a lot. Agnes stopped him for ten minutes. With such a bond, David can now borrow, but I never hit his money. He knows, and so does Agnes. There are many more stories about Agnes, my dear baby. With that, Perry kissed Agnes on the mouth.

Now Perry was silent as if he had told the outline; then Ram Singh should understand everything on the graph.

Why? Why did you keep quiet? Is that all there is to it? I can say for sure that you are the daughter of a good family, then this bagging? ”

"Looks like Ram Singh, you don't understand me."

"Flatly, I don't understand."

"Do you know why I live downtown?"

“No”

"A downtown is a place where everyone has in common; every town has its own Downtown that is always moving with the times. In downtown Toronto, people from all over the world can easily fit. Tourists, traders, shopkeepers, and even beggars like me. I have never been hurt by the people here. He who does not give anything to beggars does not feel ashamed; he goes ahead, saying sorry. This is what I want. Thoughts do not live in our homes and people. These are the thoughts that children follow. These thoughts killed my only son. No one in the house is free. My mother, my father, my brother, are slaves of all houses. No one lives his life. ”

How is that Perry? ”

Before Perry could answer, a woman came and stopped. She was nicely dressed, and she hugged Perry. Perry stood up and said, "Oh my God, Lisa, are you still at work today?"

"Yes, Sweetie, I had to come. There was an assignment pending. The Ross & Ross loan consignment is due in the first week of January. Hi Agnes, how are you? ” Agnes slapped Lisa's feet with her paws, wagging her tail and placing her front paws on her knees. Liza sat down and fell in love with Agnes.

"Lisa, this is my friend Ram Singh."

"Yes, I know, his hot dogs are very tasty. I don't know if he got Indian sauce; it's just great." Hi ... Ram Singh. ” Lisa shook hands with Ram Singh.

"How many more days are you coming, Lisa?"

“That`s it; today I finished my work. I am going to Berry this evening with Smith. The rest of the time, we will spend our time there, maybe we would go to Orillia to meet Smith`s mother. Now you tell me what I would bring for you and Agnes from Berry.”

"Agnes needs a dog jacket, Lisa, from Berry or from Toronto does not matter."

"Sure, I'll take it, but for you?"

"That's all, don't put any more burden on you."

"Perry, I was going to get coffee. Will you take it? ”

"Yes, Lisa, single sugar double cream for me, a Swiss sandwich for Agnes and a steep tea for Ram Singh, it doesn't drink coffee."

"Okay, Perry."

After Lisa left, Ram Singh asked, "How do you know I don't drink coffee and drink tea?"

"Ram Singh, this is my home around Downtown; I know everything. You bring a thermos full of tea from home, but I'm sorry you never reconciled me. ”

"That naughty girl, I didn't even know I was from your downtown; I'm sorry, I'll bring you some tea from now on."

"Yes, that's right, tea and brown bread for the future."

Ram Singh laughed and said, "Those are called Parantha; I will bring those too, now we have become friends."

"Yes, Ram Singh will talk the rest after drinking Lisa's coffee but tell me one thing too; what do you think is called home?"

"The house is the house; what is there to tell?"

That's when Lisa arrived. Perry got up, took a tray of coffee from her, and said goodbye. Perhaps this behavior of her had something to do with Ram Singh.

Lisa opened her wallet and pulled out a $20 note and handed it to Perry.

"No, Lisa, I won't take it. You don't even have the excuse that it's Christmas. I told you my need, I don`t need the money and what should I do? You know, I don't even drink, because Agnes doesn't like it. I have enough money to give to David, so say goodbye to Smith on my behalf. ”

Lisa put the money back in her purse. Saying Merry Christmas, she walked to the subway train station.

"Yes, we were talking about home."

"Before you tell any further, tell me what's wrong with your drink and Agnes?"

Perry laughed and said, "It's exciting. One evening I had a drink. I just drank neat, and I became hyper, began to speak loud and nonsense. It was ten o'clock at night, and I fell on the road. No car was coming, and I fell in the middle of the road. Agnes' leash was clutched in my hand. Agnes couldn't move, just barked. Hearing its barking and seeing a girl fall on the road, a car stopped. He came and shook me, but I was unconscious, and Agnes's rope was wrapped around my arm. He somehow made me stand up. I also looked at him at dawn and called him. Thank you. Seeing my smile, he understood something else, and he started stroking my limbs. Just then, Agnes got angry and bit him on the heel. He bit so hard that he bled. Leaving me, he got into the car and ran.

I fell to my knees and fell asleep in my sleeping bag. I don't even think Agnes is sitting alone in the cold outside. ” Perry laughed.

"What's so funny about that?" Ram Singh said.

"I'll tell you… tell you." She starts laughing loudly and puts her hands on her sides, can`t control. He

laughs and, after a while said,“Now when Agnes saw anybody with LCBO bag, he starts barking at. Now when I saw anybody carry an LCBO bag, I hold the leash tightly.

The throat gets sore. If I see someone in the distance with an envelope, I will snatch Agnes. ”

"Wow, that's amazing; Agnes is doing social work. Don`t drink.

Perry became serious and said, "Ram Singh, you tell me, if I can stop drinking at Agnes' request, then why couldn't I quit at my father's request?"

Ram Singh had no readymade answer and shrugged.

"I tell you, Ram Singh, the Dad, didn't know how to talk to me. Agnes knows how to talk to me. Dad's house is too small, but my house is too big. ” Perry was silent for a few seconds and then said, "Ram Singh, are you and your family living your life?" Have you not become slaves of the house? You mentioned that your daughter is studying at Windsor University. Have you left her alone with a leash around her neck and sent her to university? ”

"I don't understand."

"No one understands Ram Singh. You are not ignorant; you are deceitful; you are hypocritical. My father is also a hypocrite. I gave up his hypocrisy, and he is bothered by my begging. That's why I beg. Lisa has told me once or twice that she can arrange a job, but I refused.

Dad is from Halifax, and my mother is Italian. Is there a match? But when they got married, agreements were reached, and new thinking was born. I was born after thinking. Don't come, don't do that… You don't do the same with your girl? .. Ram Singh became silent. The answer was not thinking If ...

Why are you silent now? ”

"Perry, I don't have the answer to any of your questions. I disagree with you, but there is no answer, I don't understand, who is right and who is wrong? ”

Perry laughed and said, "Old man, is that what my dad does that you do?" Nothing exactly happens. You are right or wrong. After my one move after another, Dad used to say the same thing. Let's not do it again. No one is asking where I was already wrong? Also, what is the homework to make your girl just like you? Why don't you let someone live his or her life? ”

"Perry, you talk very wisely but have you ever thought that you could tell people these things, explain them, and for that, you have to change your lifestyle?"

"Ram Singh is very easy to talk. Answer one thing. You have a daughter; what will you do if someone kills her? ”

Ram Singh thought for a moment and said, "I don't know, how can that thinking flourish when it hasn't happened?"

"Ram Singh, if this happens, you cannot become a social reformer and say, 'Those people, don't kill anyone's daughter.' People will call him crazy if he does this.

"Ram Singh, my son was born. At first, they used to ask for an abortion. I don't know who the father is. Yes, I didn't know who his father was, but my family knew I was his mother. It was my choice or an event, but he was my son.

What right does anyone have to impose something on me to the point?

My son dies because of their ideals. My son dies because his own mother is not there to look after.

How will they take care of my son?

They can`t take care of themselves.

I also saw that whenever Dad is absent from home, he has to tell Mom the reason. Same thing with Mom, why they explain to each other?

Why tell each other? Sure they don`t trust the world. I do not understand. Do you do the same, Ram Singh? ”

Ram Singh was still confused, and he was just looking for an opportunity for his Pammi's life and happiness. He did not know from which mountains Perry descended.

Seeing him silent, Perry said again, "Stress and despair. Millions of people die every night and come back to life in the morning to die again." People have learned to cope with this despair and are now teaching their children to cope. It is only because of the overdose of depression that people like me do drugs and can do anything under the influence of drugs.

Why don't they think that an overdose should not be given?

Do you mention that your wife is depressed? ”

"Yes, Perry said, she's been depressed for years."

"What are you doing?"

"She takes medicine."

“Ever wondered why she is depressed?

“No”

"I'll tell you why she's sick."

"Yes, suggest me," said Ram Singh with a faint smile.

“She is definitely not living her life. It looks like you never gave her a chance. You are scared people. ”

"I can say for sure that a weak person like you will make his daughter sick too. What will he take care of his daughter if he can't take care of his wife?" That's because you believe in more medicine than their lives. ”

As she spoke, Perry was tense, with frowns on her forehead. Seeing her, Agnes began to bark. First slowly and then in the whole dog, lute. He wanted to get free from Perry. Agnes wanted to attack the situation that makes Perry sad.

Perry was holding him tightly. Ram Singh got up and stood up and realized the danger. He slipped back a little in fear. Seeing Ram Singh move back, Agnes began to growl even more angrily. Perry's grip was weakening. Perry realized. She suddenly started laughing. Laughing, he said to Ram Singh, "Ram Singh Start Laughing, Laugh Without reason." Agnes understands that language. ”

Frightened, Ram Singh started laughing. Laughing faintly first and then a little darker, Perry stepped forward, slapped Ram Singh's hand, and laughed openly. Agnes was also judging the situation and thought Perry is happy now.

Seeing Perry, Agnes took a deep breath and sat down to rub Perry's feet.

literature
Like

About the Creator

kuljit mann

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.